We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Endless choice for vegans/vegetarians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green

Village Green
33 Jaffa St., Jerusalem, Israel
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 481 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet, Dessert
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Endless choice for vegans/vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We were very excited to stumble upon this restaurant on Jaffa. As vegetarians we don't always have a lot of choice and/or have to travel farther afield to find the local vege joint. This place is centrally located on Jaffa not far from the old city and has so much to choice from. You can look at all of the entres in the display (we had the tofu burger) and/or make your own salad from the bar and add a yummy cup of soup or fresh juice. They also have baked goods. Very cozy place with fresh and clean flavored food. We each had a burger, my husband had soup and I had salad - all under 80 sch. - about 23 USD. Given how expensive we found the city this was a good deal for such good food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a vegetarian/vegan meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I go to the Emek Refaim branch with my family very often. We're vegan and this is one of the only restaurants in town where you have a large variety of vegan dishes - not only salads and warm dishes, but also nice pies, and great desserts.

The price is a little high for a self-service restaurant with basic furniture, etc. But when you factor in the fact that you do not usually leave a large tip in such places, and the large variety of food you can have in one meal, it does become a little more affordable.

The staff are very young and it always seems that you are the first person ever to ask them for (e.g.) tea or anything else that they have on the menu on the wall behind them - they start asking each other how to do this that or the other, sometimes they forget what you ordered, but this is part of the place's charm and we always end up getting what we wanted eventually.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Every mouthful a taste sensation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This superb restaurant is also at 19 Emek Refaim in the German Colony of Jerusalem.
The staff are helpful, warm and friendly, the system is great - I chose the salad and hot bar option (56 shekel or about $19) and was able to pile up 2 plates with as much as I wanted from their lovely selection of about 7 or 8 different hot dishes (all yummy - I tried them all!) and about 18 cold salads, plus two generous slices of tasty and nutritous homemade bread. Other options included soups (5 different types), quiches (4 types), pies and burgers.
Also had fresh juice and hubby managed some wonderful homemade cakes for dessert. Several vegan options available as well as the vegetarian ones. If I could cook this well at home I'd go vegetarian!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“healthy and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

whole foods and dairy cuisines by weight
good atmosphere great service
i love the stuffed pepper
anjoy

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Healthy fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you like tasty vegetarian food then this is the place for you. At this small self-service restaurant conveniently located in the center of town (on Jaffa Street, near Zion square) you can choose from several options - make your own salad from a variety of vegetables or put together a plate of hot food (baked tofu, cooked vegetables, quinoa, brown rice, potatoes, etc.) and then pay by weight. You can also choose from the individual servings of quiche or pie that are priced by the piece. I especially like the vegetable and curry pie, which is also vegan. As for desert, the muffins are also very good - I like the blueberry ones, which are enormous. The cheesecake is also excellent. My fussy daughter likes the lasagna and cheese quiche. The staff is very friendly and helpful. All products are organic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Green also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Village Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.