We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derech E-Tur Shmuel Ben Adaya | AlSawana, Mt Olives, Jerusalem, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Logging is very pricey in Jerusalem, thus paying $100/night in a decent place is very good bargain.
Spent 4 nights there around Passover.
Location - not the best (East Jerusalem), but nothing really bad if you are open-minded.
Also except couple $400/night places most of the hotels are like this one.
Taxi to/from Old city was only 40-50 sh (you still need to bargain). I would NOT recommend to use the bus
Rooms - tiny, but clean and with good shower.
Breakfast - plentiful, with non-kosher food too. Usually we need to eat next time only around 3pm.
Internet - worked, but slow in busy hours.
HVAC - central, new, very quiet.
Service - very friendly, most speak good English.

Two cons:
Parking - they claim free parking on-site. In reality it's free parking on the busy street, and not so many free spots there. Still was possible, but difficult sometimes.
Restaurant - NO evening restaurant. The "Rooftop" they mention on the website is closed for reconstruction. And NO place to eat at night in neighborhood either (Arab village). So be warned - eat in the City, or buy some food in a small shop nearby.

Room Tip: top floor (3rd)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    6
    11
    2
See reviews for
10
22
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Actually we were a group of 3 rooms who stayed at commodore hotel it was really memorable stay.rooms were realy nice clean well decorated Food was excellent on breakfast a lot of choice. Cakes and fruit was always there. Reception was very helpful. Really we spend nice time. Thank you for all commodore staff. Suy we will tell our friendsvto come

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

its a very nice elegent hotel and comfortable you feel like you are in your second house
rooms very nice beautiful , the service very good and the staff are really nice they know every details and they are helpful in everything they are available 24 hours the breakfast great and yummy
the hotel not far from the old city only about 10 minutes walking and also there is bus infront of the hotel only for 5 shekls for 2 minutes and there is two supermarket near by also pharmcy
and the best thing is the internet good quality and for free
i really recommed you to stay in this hotel because its COMFORTABLE
thanks commodore hotel for the lovely stay soon i will be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We choose this hotel thinking we can get a comfortable hotel for a reasonable price a bit further away from the touristy areas. Only the "further away" part was right - it is far from both old city and downtown, if you want to eat out at night you have to take a taxi back every time, as there is no restaurant / shop nearby at all. And also for the price the hotel is not at all that good quality - tiny rooms, no hot water, internet was down, bad breakfast, loud surroundings etc... So all in all not a great experience, try to find a better option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
835 helpful votes 835 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel appears to be far out from the Old City but is actually a 10 minute walk from Damascus gate and there is a short cut to avoid the hill. The bus 75 also stops right outside and at NIS5 trip to the Old City - very reasonable and dont waste time or money on a taxi. Rooms have clearly recently been upgraded and are very clean and modern thought the movement sensor is annoying as if watching TV or reading all the power goes off after about 10 minutes and it is a pain to have to keep moving. (But a good ecologiocal trick by the hotel) the balconies are very small and not enough space to have a seat but I guess unnecessary as the views from side and rear are not at all impressive. The exterior desperatelt needs a face lift and the garden area of plastic seating which is unused is wasted that could be valuable space. also a shame that the hotel has no bar as there is nothing close by and they could capitilise and offer a great service. Breakfast is very good with side range of cakes, breads and pastries along with usual salads and cheeses ... coffee not too impressive!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great elegant room and very comfortable beds. The front desk staff are very helpful and knowlegable and special thanks to Laila and Nasim. We will be back again as we feel that we have been treated like at home.

Small bathroom but well designed with super strong shower.

Breakfast to european taste with fruits and cakes was just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sister and cousin stayed at the Commodore Hotel in September/October. We loved it there so much, the location was fantastic, the hotel was awesome, and most of all the staff were tremendous. We loved the receptionist Anetta, she was so lovely and always willing to help us. We had an amazing time in Israel and it was always good to go back to the hotel where the staff were exceptionally good to us. The beds were very comfortable and overall we loved the Commodore Hotel. Anetta YOU ROCK, YOUR THE BEST. Ruby, Katie & Sandra

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Derech E-Tur Shmuel Ben Adaya | AlSawana, Mt Olives, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened on 15th April 2011, the hotel features 45 luxury guest rooms with modern accommodation facilities in an unmatched boutique style interiors styled in contemporary flares with modern conveniences and modern style furniture including:- Electronic door locks- Air Condition- Telephone- 26" LCD TV with 16 satellite channels- Mini-bar- High speed internetIn addition, our skilled chef provides mix of local, oriental and western delicacies in our open buffet restaurant during lunch and dinner times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Commodore Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.