We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in good location near Old Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Al-Massudi Street | P.O.Box 19374, Jerusalem 19374, Israel (Down Town East Jerusalem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in good location near Old Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location was very good in east very close to herod and damascus gate. Busy atmospheric neighbourhood, with some not obvious but surprisingly pleasant restaurants/cafes around. It was one of the few decent hotels near the old city on the price range. Breakfast just ok . I certainly would stay there again given location and clean enough.
The rooms are odd looking and old, so the initial impression is a bit strange as you might think it's not clean, however it's just the old style of it, as the rooms and bathroom were clean. If you're looking for flashy place it's is not. It's a simple very convenient located hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
9
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you are on a very tight budget, you can stay here for $70 a night. The location is pretty good - close to the Old City. The manager is pretty friendly, but that's about it. The rooms are very old and not cleaned well. The bathroom was in rough condition - old and dirty. The breakfast was so-so, and they charged for bottled water vs. the free orange Kool-aid they put out for guests. There were a bunch of Russian tourists there elbowing their way through the breakfast buffet, so my guess is they cater to the busload crowd who might be used to budget traveling and poor conditions. Would only stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

i did not enjoy my stay at all rooms are not clean very bad service employ's not friendly at all its bad that also the hotel close to a school every time they ring the bell in school you can hear it like its next to you, i ate dinner and i got sick next day sorry but very bad hotel need to work on your service and food and the price is way expensive for the service i wont give it more than $20 per day

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm just back from a weekly trip in Israel and had 2 nights at Victoria. At $55 per night per room you get a lot more than what you pay for: a free garage, a very friendly, english speaking, personnel, a decent (small) room, a decent (small) bathroom and a superb location, 5' away from Herod's gate and 10' from Damascus'. Any other hotel I checked in the area was 2x the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

DONT!!

We stayed here as it was the cheapest hotel just to put head down shower and leave next day. at $80 a night.

after a long day travelling from egypt arrived at 7 pm but rooms are small cramped dated - bathroom is tiny - can hardly stand in the shower.

jerusalems good hotels are very dear - so only book this if on a shoe string budget OR like us half a day of usage only, should have stayed where we stayed last time.

second time in jerusalem and would recommend another budget hote that is 10 times nicer just a 2 mins along the road - THE HOLY LAND HOTEL - book there and pay a little more maybe $140 a night - hotel ismuch bigger / better / cleaner / rooms are much more spacious and warm!!

sorry bu unfortunatley a VER dissapointing hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

One of the more reasonably priced hotels inJerusalem, handy location near Old City, neighborhood is busy but very quiet at night. Evening we took a taxi into the new city to eat etc and a taxi back , although one taxi driver wouldn't go to East Jerusalem. Breakfast nothing special but perfectly adequate. Do not stray into Mea Shearim which is 15 minutes walk away.....unless you are dressed very conservatively! We visited in November 2012, a very tense time to be in Israel but we had no problems whatsoever. Jerusalem seems quite dead at night but actually has lots of stuff going on, you just have to do some homework and ask around. Everyone should visit this city at least once in their life, incredible and unforgettable place.

Room Tip: Be polite and friendly even if they can't help ,they may have cancellations. our room had no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed for a total of eight nights at the Victoria Hotel (sometimes called the New Victoria Hotel) in October 2012. Hotel accommodation in Jerusalem is pricey on the whole and I thought that the Victoria offered pretty good value for money (I paid 65 USD per night for bed and breakfast). The hotel seems to cater more for large groups of pilgrims (many of them Russian) than for individual travelers.

The location of the hotel in downtown East Jerusalem is good, being only five minutes' walk from Herod's Gate, one of the many entrances to Old City - though not a main one). There is a first-rate museum close to the hotel – the Rockefeller Museum, which I would strongly recommend visiting, as it contains some wonderful artefacts, including 8th century wooden beams and panels from Al-Aqsa Mosque, marble lintels from the Church of the Holy Sepulchre dating from the Crusader era and reassembled stucco decorations from Hisham's Palace, an 8th century AD Ummayad hunting lodge in Jericho. The area in which the hotel is located is rather run-down and litter-strewn - but perfectly respectable and safe, though somewhat deserted late at night.

The staff were pleasant and courteous. My room (at the back of the hotel) was quiet with ample storage space. The bed was comfortable, although I found the pillows rather hard. The air-conditioning was efficient, although I didn't need to use it very often. Free wi-fi Internet was available in room and it worked well most of the time. There was a bath (with a plug!) and hot water most of the time. There was also satellite TV with a reasonable range of channels (though mostly in Arabic). The room had a small balcony - but the view wasn't that great. The breakfast was adequate – but became rather boring after a while, with the same offerings every day. There are two good and reasonably-priced restaurants (Philadelphia and Azzahra) just round corner, both of them licensed.

Any quibbles I have are fairly minor ones. The public areas of the hotel (with the exception of the reception area) are a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment: the carpet outside my room looked as though it hadn't been cleaned since the British Mandate ended! It would have been nice to have had a small fridge in the room - though there was a large one in the breakfast room next door, which I used from time to time. I also found the lighting in the room rather harsh. The shower had to be hand held when in use as it could not be properly secured: on more than one occasion, the bathroom got more of a soaking than I did!

I would certainly stay at the Victoria Hotel again and recommend it to travelers who are on a fairly tight budget. I found it a convenient and comfortable base for exploring what it one of the world's great cities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 8 Al-Massudi Street | P.O.Box 19374, Jerusalem 19374, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.