We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Al-Massudi Street | P.O.Box 19374, Jerusalem 19374, Israel (Down Town East Jerusalem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Umbertide, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was the second time for me in the New Victorie Hotel, and I was very sutisfied again.
Quite clean hotel, very nice staff and good food.
Wifi very fast and available (for free) in the whole structure.
Very good position, close to Damascus gate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
9
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
421 helpful votes 421 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

First impressions: Judging from the ordinary-looking facade, I wasn't quite sure what was "new" about the New Victoria Hotel. Perhaps, it's under new management? Averaging between 55 British Pounds (low season) to about 100 British Pounds per night (deluxe suite at peak season), this is relatively cheap for its 3-star rating. Grade B.

Pros: Location... location... location is a big plus. This hotel is a mere 5-minute walk to Herod's Gate or 10 minutes to Damascus Gate of the Walled Old City of Jerusalem and, if you wish to bus it up to the Mount of Olives, an 8-minute walk to the bus station. Rooms are decent enough, not too shabby. A buffet breakfast, A/C and WiFi access are complimentary. Desk service is friendly, speaks English and are accommodating. They can arrange airport transfers for you. Rates are of good value for what you get.

Cons: For all of its excellent location, the hotel is not easy to find. I had to carry a map around to help me get back. The hotel is tucked away inside an Arab neighborhood, whose shops close and streets grow dark too early in the evening. The A/C (or heater) is a hit-or-miss affair. And the free breakfast can get monotonous in a hurry. Lastly, despite what the receptionist tells you, reserve a space for airport transfers the day before.

Verdict: This is a hotel meant for non-fussy budget travellers, looking only for a place to sleep --- nothing more. Excellent value for what you get. Anything cheaper and you're looking at youth hostels. I would not necessarily discourage you from choosing this hotel, just don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

East Jerusalem is a Muslim quarter with everything what belongs to it... Allthough we never felt in danger even in the evening with the kids. At night (after 9 p.m.) the quarter is empty and quiet.
The position is really good - 5 minutes from Herods Gate and 10 minutes walk from Damascus Gate and the Bus terminal
The staff at the reception was extremely helpful and friendly. I was not very happy with the breakfast - the choise was very poor (e.g.arabic bread only).
We had a problem with the final payment - the credit card machine seemed not to be working, so my husband had to pick up cash from the ATM. The lady at the reception offered to cover our extra bank costs for the cash pick up - so we were happy at the end.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Decent rooms, although the heating is almost non existing (even during winter).
Quite clean. Very friendly and good staff.
Very good location, 5 miniutes from Damascus gate.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 8 Al-Massudi Street | P.O.Box 19374, Jerusalem 19374, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.