We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Swedish Hostel

Save Saved
You added New Swedish Hostel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Swedish Hostel
David St 29, Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem 91190, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic and Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed in the New Swedish Hostel in August as a couple. The facilities are not great. I slept in the dorm room and was fairly sure that the bed linen/anything anywhere had not been washed in a while. Cleanliness is obviously not a priority. Kitchen facilities are very limited and the showers are cramped.

However, on the positive side the New Swedish Hostel is in a prime location a few minutes walk from Jaffa Gate. Once you leave the hostel you are right in the centre of the Old City and for this its location is unrivalled.

If you are not fussy about where you sleep or about hygiene and want to talk to some crazy (not always in a good way) other guests then definitely visit the Swedish Hostel. The owners once you get them talking are great. Karim (a co-owner) will give you his life story willingly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
6
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in the dorm for 2 nights while backpacking. We had spacious beds by the window so we were fine but the dorm was cramped for others who were in the bunks. I'm not very fussy at all so it did the trick for me.

The showers had hot water but they were very cramped. They are unisex and so you have to change in the actual shower cubical but there is no-where to keep clothes dry while you shower! I'm small and it was awkward so i'm not sure how blokes and taller women would find this.

Karim, on the staff, is a mine of historical information on the Israel/palestine conflict as well as on the political history of neighbouring countries. An animated guy who likes to show what he knows; just don't expect to get away in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed here twice for a total of 4 nights and had no complaints hence returning. The location is perfect, in the Old City right by Jaffa Gate. The hostel itself is a little shabby and small but you need to remember where you are. There is a small kitchen and a TV room, The showers and toilets are cramped but they work and are clean. The guys on reception were helpful, although they aren't the most animated of people, and made us feel welcome.
Two of us stayed in a triple room and we were just ok for space as we had the spare bed but three people would have been a squash. The dorm looked pretty cramped but we didn't stay in it.
Would recommend this place for a cheap sleep and I would go back; but don't book this place if you need space and luxury as you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This place is cheap and in a great location near Damascus Gate. The rooms are shabby and the showers/toilets cramped (if you're tall like me forget it!), but this is acceptable for the price.

However, the staff are so rude it makes your stay really unpleasant. My advice, spend a few extra pennies and get a decent hostel which polite, professional staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We booked a double room via internet. When we arrived we saw the rooms and hallways were very narrow and not very clean, so we decided not to sty there. The owner started to blackmail us by saying that he was going to charge us for the whole night (I booked with my creditcard) in stead of only the booking fee. But he couldnt at the end.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone ,UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Private double was 5 single bunk beds. No heating. Small toilets and showers, cramped conditions. Fairly friendly and footie on TV, which had to be switched off by 11pm. But reasonable price considering location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Bathrooms tiny, beds comfortable, staff really rude.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — really rude staff, lots of stairs, tiny bathroom, tiny kitchen
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Swedish Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Swedish Hostel

Address: David St 29, Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Specialty lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your New Swedish Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Swedish Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Swedish Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.