We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darna Moroccan Restaurant

Darna Moroccan Restaurant
3 Horkanos Street, Jerusalem, Israel
02-6245406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 474 Restaurants in Jerusalem
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York, NY
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Always outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant each time we have visited Jerusalem --- always an outstanding experience. Fabulous setting, excellent service and wonderful food. Try the bastilla (pastilla?) as a first course and then the lamb on the bone (an entree for two people) on a bed of couscous --- fabulous! My only reservation is that the place has become rather "pricey."

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    25
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Moroccan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ordered lamb shanks tangine, chicken with couscous and a varied salad tray. All excellent. Be sure to order Tea. It is served in a unique way!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Darna is my favorite restaurant in Jerusalem. One of the things I love about it is that's it's so unique. The architecture, food, and overall atmosphere make you feel like you're really in Morocco. The food is really good-follow the waiter's recommendations and you'll really love it too. A lot of sweet choices on the menu and great homemade desserts. Really really great place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beit shemesh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“go for the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

the prices were a bit above the norm. the food was good. but the experience was wonderful! and thats what we went for. the atmosphere was romantic,exotic,evocotive. the service was outstanding. it was more than service..it was being hosted. no matter how good a meal is, the taste of the food only lasts during that meal,whereas the darna experience lives on.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“It's as Much about the Decor and Presentation as the Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I like the full package when I eat out. I want good food, served beautifully in a great looking restaurant with a great atmosphere - so yes I am hard to please. Darna nearly ticked all the boxes.
As we walked through the restaurant to our private dining area (we were a large group) I loved the decor and the look of the place, though I did prefer the main area to the private room that we were in. As we were part of a group we had no choice but the food was plentiful and served on beautiful dishes. Moroccan food isn't my favourite but I really enjoyed the chicken main course and broke my 'no sugar' rule to have the gorgeous dessert which I can only describe as a stack of something that looked a bit like Indian papadums but they were sweet with a sweet white sauce - It was very hard to stop eating them, so I just carried on. Calories don't count when you are on holiday - especially in Israel (my scales disagreed when I got home though).
I have no idea how much the bill came to but if you check the menu and prices before you book you will have some idea how much your bill will come to. If you think its expensive don't go there.
Finally - I noticed that they had moroccan ceramics and other things for sale when we were on our way out. They all looked gorgeous but I had no time to stop and look, so yes I will be going back for the chicken, dessert and possibly to buy one of their lovely moroccan nick-naks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darna Moroccan Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Darna Moroccan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darna Moroccan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.