We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Middle East Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Land Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holy Land Hotel to your Saves list
Holy Land Hotel
6 Rashid St | PO Box 19700, East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Real Middle East Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Our study group spent two weeks at the Holy Land Hotel instead of the our already-booked learning institution, St. George's College. Wonderful variety of fresh food over that time, outstanding hotel staff in dining room, front desk, bar and housekeeping. Impeccable cleaning and care of rooms and bathrooms. Clean, fresh central air conditioning. Undeveloped rooftop terrace ideal for sunrise and sunset gazing across to the Old City. Close to post office, shops, local merchants, Herod's Gate into Old City. This is not Marriott but the real Jerusalem in a modest but genuine hotel. Surrender and enjoy. Get to know the friendly staff and you will feel like you've really been somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
9
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coogee, NSW
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I was so disappointed, it is not hard to clean a bath! It has mould and gunge around all the taps and plug hole. Revolting. After one night's sleep I honestly could not move my back, and this happened to a few of us. The beds are just so bad. The food was not typical of anything in Palestine, which is such a shame, there is such good and simple food here. Some of the meals were lovely, but most of the buffet dishes are fried. There is such great value hotels in Jerusalem, especially on this site, why would you say here? It is expensive for what it is, and not so close to anything significant really. You really feel ripped off. Also they let travelling African pilgrims sing in choir at 2am in the morning, waking eveyone up for hours, who allows this in a hotel? Do not stay here. The internet is free but totally sporadic and hard to get a a good signal most times.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is an average budget hotel. The location is fine although it is close to a mosque so expect to be woken early. The rooms are a bit threadbare but clean. My room looked absolutely nothing like the one in the pictures. The reception staff were fine but the waiters in the dining room weren't particularly friendly. If you have no other options, this hotel might be OK but I wouldn't particularly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire,England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Wasnt sure what to expect but was impressed with all aspects of the hotel, great food, buffet breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff. We were a group of 31 pilgrims from the North West and all were extremely satisfied with the hotel and would have no hesiation in recommending this hotel for a visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

We found our rooom and the hotel in general to be very clean and well run. The reception staff were always helpful. Most of the guests were Christian pilgrims and were very quite. Very convenient to walk into the Old City etc.

  • Liked — Being very clean, quite and with friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

The Holy Land Hotel is a clean, quiet hotel only about a block from Herod's Gate in East Jerusalem. It's got wireless internet, which I can sometimes pick up in my room on the first floor, and always in the lobby and coffee shop. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in my room rate and was better than continental. The room, bed, and bath are both nicely sized for a single traveler.

The only thing you MUST know about this hotel is that it's located in an Arab district, and you may have problems getting Jewish taxi drivers to bring you here. I've had two now drop me off a few blocks away rather than drive into the heart of enemy territory. As a single blonde woman, I'm dead serious about this - please be careful if you stay here and go out walking. I don't feel it's safe for single female travelers. With a man, ok; in a group, fine; two women, you're pushing it; single woman, really, pay a little extra and stay further west. Or if you stay here, find the number of a taxi driver who feels comfortable in this area, and call that person when you need a taxi back to the hotel. I had a Hassidic Jewish driver pick me up from my appointment at Hebrew University today, and I was not imagining the aggression or antagonism towards him from the locals as he got me as close to this hotel as he dared.

  • Liked — Value, proximity to old city
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holy Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy Land Hotel

Address: 6 Rashid St | PO Box 19700, East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holy Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Land Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.