We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abu Shaker

Abu Shaker
29 Hameginim St., Haifa 33091, Israel
054-4466181
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 235 Restaurants in Haifa
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Israeli
Restaurant details
tel aviv
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Came to eat humus for lunch. It was my 3 rd time. Was so disappointed. Humus was really not tasty as always. Service was horrible and so unfriendly. We've asked 4 times for the falafel and were told they are not ready and saw other people getting them. Surprisingly or not - doctors from the nearest hospital got great service with smiles from um shaker.
We will not come back and I'm sure we will find a better substitute for a good humus in Haifa.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap, really tasty, worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The owners are really nice, would put on your table anything they have in the kitchen, even if you didnt order it. Everything was really tasty, we would definitely go back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“The most delicious hummus in Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

the place itself is very small. 5 tables inside, outside, another 2.
This site is prepared hummus. its a lot of species with different additives.
portion of hummus + Coca Cola, worth NIS 30. Hummus is delicious and fresh. in any other place I have not eaten this. score 100 out of 100.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The BEST hummus in Haifa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Abu Shaker is the best hummus in Haifa and the area. Take either Hummus or Meshawashe and get side-dishes for free at your table. Very small place and very busy - this is the authentic eatery and the quality is always good.
Saturdays and Fridays are packed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Simple Place But Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hummus is amazing as are the other free salads that come the moment you sit down. While the location and ambience are nothing to writ home about the owners are very welcoming

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Shaker also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to Abu Shaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abu Shaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.