We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Carmel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haifa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Carmel Hotel
Save
You added Mount Carmel Hotel to your Saves list
103 Derech Hayam Street, Haifa 34746, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very dated rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Where to start with this hotel? I stayed one night on business, picking the hotel pretty much at random as a convenient midway point between two business meetings. The price was reasonable for Israel with breakfast included. The room was large with a very small balcony (with one chair so if there's two in the double room you'd have to take turns!) the balcony had good views over the trees to the distant ocean. The room itself was very dated with a full sized (noisy) fridge, aged telly decrepit air con and rusty heater in the bathroom, almost like stepping back into the 70's. At least the room was as clean as the dated fittings allowed and the bedding clean and comfortable. The reception looks like it has had a recent makeover but the rest of the hotel is in urgent need of a renovation. Shame really because with a good refurbishment this would be a nice little hotel, without it has little to recommend it to the business traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
8
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MILANO
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Old, dirty witouth any service..I confirm all the bad reviews.
This is 70's hotel but the main problem is that it has never been reniewed since then.
The room was not s clean with a very old moquette full of stains and bad smell. No internet, no frigo bar, old tv(even he remote control did not work). Very sad ambience.
Breakfast: Pratically nothing but a long bad coffee. Sad, sad, sad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Mount Carmel Hotel is, by far, the most disgusting hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The blanket on the bed was stained. When I called the front desk to have them bring me another one, the concierge showed up with another stained blanket. I showed it to him on the spot and he said he was sorry and would bring another blanket. The bathroom was abhorrent. There was rust along the tub/shower area, rust coming out of the faucet, rust and peeling paint on the back of the bathroom door, dirty carpet and a stained, ripped couch. The couches right outside the elevator were also stained and had the added bonus of cigarette burns on them. The dining room chairs were all stained, the plates and coffee cups were dirty and the "hostess" was very rude. We were so disgusted that we left without eating.Shame, shame, shame on the Mount Carmel Hotel.

Room Tip: Best tip I have is to choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston on Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This Hotel has been much maligned by some reviewers and I feel that I should give an unbiased view. The room was clean, with crisp, clean white sheets and clean towels that were changed daily. It was a large room with kingsized bed, bed settee, coffee table, TV, small balcony air conditioning, and large ensuit. The room and ensuit were cleaned daily and shower gel and toilet rolls topped up. The furniture matched and the style was different, but sturdy, functional and unbroken. The walls were painted white in a rather amature way. The window was draped with black out curtains, which I liked very much because I can't sleep when its light.

For someone from the UK, the selection of food for breakfast was a little unusual, but when in Israel, eat hummous! It must be remembered that the hotel is 3 star, and does not advertise itself as a luxury hotel. I found it homely, comfortable and quite adequate for my needs. the only problem was that I could not access wifi from my room, but there was plenty of space to sit in the lobby. I was not there long enough to explore the swimming pool. There was some modernisation work being carried out in one of the "Halls", but this did not interfere with my stay.

Room Tip: some rooms on the third floor are too near the air conditioning and can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This old, smelly, carpet-stained hotel was listed as a 3-star. It's a 1-star at best. The outside of the building looks nice and semi-modern and clean, but once you pass the reception desk and head to the tiniest, dirtiest elevator you'll ever be in, you realize what a mistake it was to book it.
Only pro is a pretty decent breakfast which was included.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This "hotel" is worse than any hourly motel in a shady part of town. Disgusting smelly rooms. Stray hairs from who knows all over the linens and bathroom. Why do I have to sit there picking off a strangers hair off of the sheets I am going to sleep in?

Turning on the hot water at the sink in the bathroom resulted in a brownish color water flowing out of the faucet. It was repulsive.

During their dinner services I attempted to put some of their disgusting feed onto my plate only to be greeted by a roach crawling on the buffet table right beside the food. I immediately lost my appetite and had a piece of bread that night.

This kind of negligence is completely unacceptable and if they were operating in the states they would have long been shut down.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

As with many hotels in Israel, this wreaked of 1960's-70's mod architecture, not it's best era. As with Catskills hotels, it is aged and shabby and has spots that smell of moisture. The breakfast and dinner were pretty good. Unfortunately, there I can't think of something special to speak of.

It's old. It needs work. But it's habitable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.6 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#6 of 23 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
1.2 mi away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Haifa
Leonardo Hotel Haifa
#9 of 23 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Carmel Hotel

Address: 103 Derech Hayam Street, Haifa 34746, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Number of rooms: 98

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Carmel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.