We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, Sad, Sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Carmel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Carmel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Carmel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Derech Hayam Street, Haifa 34746, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Haifa
MILANO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sad, Sad, Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Old, dirty witouth any service..I confirm all the bad reviews.
This is 70's hotel but the main problem is that it has never been reniewed since then.
The room was not s clean with a very old moquette full of stains and bad smell. No internet, no frigo bar, old tv(even he remote control did not work). Very sad ambience.
Breakfast: Pratically nothing but a long bad coffee. Sad, sad, sad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Mount Carmel Hotel is, by far, the most disgusting hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The blanket on the bed was stained. When I called the front desk to have them bring me another one, the concierge showed up with another stained blanket. I showed it to him on the spot and he said he was sorry and would bring another blanket. The bathroom was abhorrent. There was rust along the tub/shower area, rust coming out of the faucet, rust and peeling paint on the back of the bathroom door, dirty carpet and a stained, ripped couch. The couches right outside the elevator were also stained and had the added bonus of cigarette burns on them. The dining room chairs were all stained, the plates and coffee cups were dirty and the "hostess" was very rude. We were so disgusted that we left without eating.Shame, shame, shame on the Mount Carmel Hotel.

Room Tip: Best tip I have is to choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston on Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This Hotel has been much maligned by some reviewers and I feel that I should give an unbiased view. The room was clean, with crisp, clean white sheets and clean towels that were changed daily. It was a large room with kingsized bed, bed settee, coffee table, TV, small balcony air conditioning, and large ensuit. The room and ensuit were cleaned daily and shower gel and toilet rolls topped up. The furniture matched and the style was different, but sturdy, functional and unbroken. The walls were painted white in a rather amature way. The window was draped with black out curtains, which I liked very much because I can't sleep when its light.

For someone from the UK, the selection of food for breakfast was a little unusual, but when in Israel, eat hummous! It must be remembered that the hotel is 3 star, and does not advertise itself as a luxury hotel. I found it homely, comfortable and quite adequate for my needs. the only problem was that I could not access wifi from my room, but there was plenty of space to sit in the lobby. I was not there long enough to explore the swimming pool. There was some modernisation work being carried out in one of the "Halls", but this did not interfere with my stay.

Room Tip: some rooms on the third floor are too near the air conditioning and can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This old, smelly, carpet-stained hotel was listed as a 3-star. It's a 1-star at best. The outside of the building looks nice and semi-modern and clean, but once you pass the reception desk and head to the tiniest, dirtiest elevator you'll ever be in, you realize what a mistake it was to book it.
Only pro is a pretty decent breakfast which was included.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This "hotel" is worse than any hourly motel in a shady part of town. Disgusting smelly rooms. Stray hairs from who knows all over the linens and bathroom. Why do I have to sit there picking off a strangers hair off of the sheets I am going to sleep in?

Turning on the hot water at the sink in the bathroom resulted in a brownish color water flowing out of the faucet. It was repulsive.

During their dinner services I attempted to put some of their disgusting feed onto my plate only to be greeted by a roach crawling on the buffet table right beside the food. I immediately lost my appetite and had a piece of bread that night.

This kind of negligence is completely unacceptable and if they were operating in the states they would have long been shut down.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

As with many hotels in Israel, this wreaked of 1960's-70's mod architecture, not it's best era. As with Catskills hotels, it is aged and shabby and has spots that smell of moisture. The breakfast and dinner were pretty good. Unfortunately, there I can't think of something special to speak of.

It's old. It needs work. But it's habitable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Do not confuse this hotel with the Dan Carmel. It seems the public areas of Har Hacarmel have been renovated recently - the lobby, pool, dinning room. The hallways are old and not in great shape as are the rooms - they had more of a motel feel. Noise travels easily from the hally into rooms. Furniture and decorations are outdated, the rooms are not particularly clean and do not come with any extra ammenities in the bathroom. The view is not spectacular either, although you can see the sea from one side (not the port side). Location is decent, though not exactly in the center, an easy 20 minutes walk. Note, pool/spa/gym are only open during certain hours and less on Friday/Shabbat. The front desk service was knowledgeable and friendly though the dining service was not. It is definitely overpriced for what it's worth, don't let the photos fool you. Not good for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Carmel Hotel

Address: 103 Derech Hayam Street, Haifa 34746, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Haifa
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Carmel Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Mount Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Carmel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;