We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Inn

Save Saved
You added Port Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Jaffa (Yafo) Road | German Colony, Haifa 33261, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Haifa B&B and Inns
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I love the garden! small but really beautiful & warm. Sit in garden and enjoy the great breakfast, relax! Room is clean & big, helpful staff. There is a Chinese restaurant nearby, also has outside garden for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    79
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
53
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at 3 hostel in private rooms during my trip throughout Israel. Port Inn was definitely the best. Very busy and popular with travelers, so check-in was a little hectic with a wait, but overall it was very clean, fairly modern, very comfortable beds, in-room fridge, good shower. Smart layout of various common space, pleasant sunny dining room, good free wifi. Very convenient travel onto anywhere else (within 5 minute walk from central train station, Nazareth bus, the Carmelit subway, etc.). Difficult to get around town without walking/hiking uphill or paying for taxis on Shabbat (Saturdays) since the buses and subway aren't running of course...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my three night stay in October 2012 at the Port Inn. The best thing about the place is the staff, who couldn't have been more friendly, attentive or helpful. Hotel accommodation in Israel in not cheap and as I was travelling during peak season (the Jewish Sukkot holiday), I had to pay premium prices (242 US$ for three nights including breakfast). The Port Inn offers both single/double rooms and dorm accommodation, which explains why some reviewers refer to it as a hostel rather than as a hotel.

The location is great, just a five minute walk from the nearest railway station (Merkaz HaShmona), opposite which quite a few useful 'buses stop. There are also nearby cafes, bars and shops, including several supermarkets - and a coin-operated laundrette right next door. Haifa has Israel's only metro and the lower terminal is a five minute walk from the hotel. From there one can reach the upper part of town, which is where the main hotels are, in a matter of minutes. It takes just over ten minutes to walk to the German Colony from the hotel: that's where you'll find the liveliest bars and restaurants in town.

There was no fridge in the room, but guests are welcome to use the large communal fridge in the small shared kitchen. The room itself was spacious and reasonably well-appointed, with a comfortable bed and pillows. Everything in the room and bathroom worked as it should, though the shower curtain was pretty useless; it was impossible keeping the bathroom floor dry whilst one was showering. I appreciated the free wi-fi Internet connection. There is an attractive and shady courtyard garden. The breakfast was above average for a hotel in this price bracket.

I could happily have stayed on in Haifa for a few extra days, as I really liked the atmosphere of the place. It must have one of the most magnificent settings of any city in the Mediterranean. The Jews and Arabs of Haifa seem to co-exist more harmoniously than elsewhere in the region; I certainly felt no tension there. The highlights of my visit were the sublime Shrine of the Bab and the exquisitely maintained Persians Gardens that surrounds it; and the fascinating and well laid-out Hecht Museum at the University of Haifa, on the outskirts of the city. I also visited nearby Akko (Acre), the last of the Crusader strongholds to fall to the Arab armies, and Tzfat, the highest town in Israel, by train and 'bus. Both are well worth visiting.

On a negative note, I was a little surprised to find no TV in the room. Also, the sound-proofing was not as good as it might have been. There were some quite noisy fellow guests occupying dorm accommodation on the same floor and my room was unfortunately right next door to the shared bathroom they used.

I would certainly stay at the Port Inn again and recommend it to visitors to Haifa, a city which I rate highly (far more so than soulless and tacky Tel Aviv, which I'm afraid to say failed to delight me).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is located in walking distance of the hip German Colony, which is bordered by the breathtaking Baha'i temple. In addition to its great location, the hostel offers great prices for a cleanly and pleasant hostel, quiet despite the happening nightlife nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The staff helped us to find everything we needed and the breakfast selection was the best we experienced for budget accomodations in Israel. Good location for exploring Haifa, close to bus and train stops. Cosy little garden, washing service next doors and some nice restaurants nearby. We especially liked the little bookswap corner next to the kitchen, and the staff were kind enough to let us buy one when we didn't have one to offer in return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've traveled everywhere in the world but the Port Inn is the most amazing place we've stayed at! The unique atmosphere and the kindest and most helpful owners and staff will make your stay there most memorable. Great location to travel around Haifa and within Israel. Spotless, beautifully decorated, comfortable and priceless rooms and facility/area with AC, free Wifi and Internet and a coin laundry, with a magnificently flourished backyard ''garden of Eden'' where you will love to relax. A special thank you to lovely Rachel and her family! We miss their warm greetings in the mornings and the great breakfast! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in a private double room at Port Inn. It is too expensive for what they offer. The room was dark and unfurnished with low ceiling, the staff was not friendly at all. The streets around are dirty and stink. There is a mini-kitchen for the hostel guests, but even for 1 person it would be too small. The hostel is clean, free internet is included and a non-kosher breakfast is included. Bus, railway and subway stations are close. Would not come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn

Address: 34 Jaffa (Yafo) Road | German Colony, Haifa 33261, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Inn is the ideal base for exploring Haifa and northern Israel.A beautifully restored Arabic building, conveniently located in downtown Haifa.Here you can find affordable accommodation of all kinds: apartments, private rooms and dormitories. Guests can enjoy our comfortable lounge area, equipped with a multilingual satellite TV, a kitchen with free coffee and tea available all day, and a flourishing garden where guests can soak up the sun, sit in the shade or just generally enjoy the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Haifa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.