We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a health resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection to your Saves list
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carmel Forest | PO 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Haifa
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a health resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Although billed as a health destination, the resort appeals more to adults looking for a day or two of rest and a lot of good food. The rooms are adequate, certainly not luxurious. The daily offered classes are spotty, yoga not offered daily, and extra fees taken for spinning, making it seem to be an afterthought rather than one of the main centerpieces of the destination. The spa services seemed overly comprehensive and not well explained either by staff or in writing, although the masseuses were quite professional. Many silly extras like a 90 shekel daily Internet fee so to discourage "outside vibes" from interfering with your experience while placing a television in every room seemed disingenuous.
The offered services were never explained to us by the staff even though my wife was asked if this was our first visit to the facility. We found out on the day of our departure of bicycle trails and on premise bicycle availability although we never saw the offering in the literature given us.
Probably the best of it's genre in Israel, but still needs a lot of tweaking to make it a world class resort.

Room Tip: If you don't require a patio, ask for a higher floor for a room with a view at less price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    42
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
156
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you are looking for a place to chill out, this is the place. Even with every room in the hotel sold out, the entire place is quiet. This is a result of the location, and policy for not admitting children below the age of 16 and request to refrain from using mobile phones in public areas (which MOST people comply to).
The grounds and facilities are beautiful and treatments and massages great.
Not cheap, but worth the money.
The fire from last year is discernible as you look north, but the grounds and south are as beautiful as ever.
We've been there in the past and enjoyed a perfect vacation. This time we noticed some "cost saving" in service and menu, but still a very good experience.

Room Tip: If you wish to spend time n your room enjoying the view, chose one with a a balcony, otherwise, save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fabulous hotel. The staff are superb. I found the rooms a bit spartan, but this was supposedly a health spa it's ok I suppose. Which brings me on to problem. The food was excellent. In fact, it was the best I've had in an Israeli hotel. The problem is that I was meant to lose a bit of weight and become more healthy, and all I did was stuff myself solid for the entire trip. They even had a cookie jar (with a one-shekel honour-payment). Yes, I was nice and relaxed. But no, I do not feel healthier. So, don't go here with any ambitions other than to put on weight and enjoy yourself. But that's not a bad thing once-in-a-while, is it?

Room Tip: I chose one which had direct access to the pool. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

No question that this is the best resort hotel in Israel - it was our fifth stay as we went for my wife's birthday over a weekend. All previous reviews sum up the positives - it really is an adult kosher paradise - particularly in late spring when the outside pool area is open for all to enjoy.

Food, bed and general ambience are outstanding but staff and service really need attention. check in was slovenly - perfunctory greeting, no offer to help with bags. No returning guest recognition - not even fruit in the room for shabbat - and no acknowledgemnt of my wife's birthday (mentioned on booking and at chek in) save when mentioned to the head waiter who then kindly produced a half bottle of sparkling wine at friday night dinner.

Waiters are nearly all dopey with one or two exceptions, and I can't understand why they refuse to serve lunch outside on the beautiful terrace in lovely spring weather.

Choice of food remains excellent. New wine bar is attractive but we never saw anyone go in there - would much prefer a regular bar in the lobby where you could have pre-dinner drinks etc

Overall it remains good but needs to improve staffing befoer it can regard itself as outstanding

Room Tip: garden rooms are the best but anyroom with balcony is worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rehovot israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have been to this hotel several times and have never been disapointed.All previous reviews were correct, a great spa area, exxcellent service,clean rooms and a central location onlly an hour from telaviv.(Its a pity a forest fire last year ruined a lot of the greenery in this area.)The scrumptious food buffets often with calory and nutrition markings especially tasty desserts are fantastic.A stylish lobby with herbal tea 24 hours a day and piano player in the evening.Definately deserves the no. 1 rating as the top hotel in the haifa area

Room Tip: If you do a midweek booking you get a free spa treatment per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent the chol hamoed at the spa-It was amazing. The facility was great and the food was the best kosher for passover food we have ever eaten anywhere
Book your treatments in advance as the spa was full!

Room Tip: Teh only problem is coffee is not availabel with dinner meal That is a real hardship for Americans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We do plenty of travelling, and always stay in top hotels. However, our experience at the Carmel Spa was super outstanding. From the moment we arrived we were totally relaxed and removed from the stresses of the real world. With no cell phones allowed in public areas, no noisy shoes, there was an immediate transition to a sense of serenity. Natural light coming in from the large expanses of windows overlooking the magnificent scenery, lots of mildly scented candles burning , and soft relaxing music all contributed to the feeling of being in a Garden of Eden.
And of course there is the spa which is second to none. The dining experience was without match. It was hard to leave. And we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Address: Carmel Forest | PO 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haifa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#6 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Forest Spa Resort By Isrotel Exclusive Collection Hotel Haifa
Carmel Forest Hotel
Carmel Forest Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.