We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not for a long stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Gardens Haifa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dan Gardens Haifa to your Saves list
Dan Gardens Haifa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Yefe-Nof St., Haifa 34454, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok, but not for a long stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went for a business trip, found the room neglected but clean. Everything seemed about 30+ years old. From the taxi, you look up several flights of uneven stone steps. There's no way to alert anyone in the hotel that help is needed - so if you're staying here, PACK LIGHT!

Rooms were small - but as said before, clean, but a bit shabby. If you have a road facing room - the view if over all of Haifa.

The food was bland, and the breakfast meagre.

The staff were helpful, but I noticed several guests who were very harsh/brusque/demanding - staff seemed exhausted from these onslaughts.

Overall, for the short work stay, it was fine. But I wouldn't go for a romantic weekend, a family or couples holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    26
    18
    14
See reviews for
12
30
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is unworthy of the Dan chain (which is generally very good). It is an old building that should be renovated. But that is OK as the price was right. What is not right that it was plain dirty. You could see the accumulated dust on the curtains, the corners of the floor were full with accumulated dust, as were the lampshades. The bed cover was filthy. in the bath room I could not take bath as the drain cover was missing, the shower itself was the cheapest you can get, etc. The neglect was noticeable in these examples: in front of the third floor elevator door there were paint stains that could be easily removed, the breakfast rolls and bread was kept on a side table still in the plastic bag of the bakery (they should have been placed in a basket) and there was one jug of milk covered with a plate! on side table instead of small pitcher that is normally placed by the waiter on each occupied table.This has nothing to do with money but with management and care.

Room Tip: The rooms in front have fabulous view of Haifa but are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metar, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

we like the place for it's location. the value is ok if you don't hope for the dan hotels upper level. only front rooms have the sea vieu. we prefer the back rooms becous last time that we staied the front was noisy with music from near disckotqe. this time the place was quiet. the brakfast is modest and ok. parking is on nearby streets.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Based on our very positive experience with Dan hotel on the Scopus mountain in Jeruzalenm, we booked with Dan in Haifa. On the picture as you see above it looks nice BUT... it is far from it.
It starts with the parking when you arrive. temporary you can park on the white-red stripes. Later you have to look for a place (not white blue ! it cost 100 shekel after 9 in the morning, but the receptionist does not tell you!). There is only a limited number of rooms, no restaurant.
The room is only cleaned superficialy and smells mouldy. the sanitary block far from clean, do not look at the curtains or you will leave the room immediately. the sofa? do not sit down on it naked!!!!
In the breakfast area, they put the lowest level (intelectual) person.
At the reception people were kind and aware about the situation.
Haifa is a nice city , the Bahia gardens and the Carmelite center are not far away.
If you just sleep here, it might be an option but close your eyes and your nose.

Room Tip: On the back part quiet but terrible view, in frontsrely nice but I do not know if quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location is absolutely the best that Haifa has to offer with most major tourist hot spots and city night life within 5 minute walking distance. Some of the rooms have an amazing view of Haifa bay. Rooms are minimalistic yet comfortable, definitely decent.
With that said, this hotel needs some big time renovation. Whole place is stuck way back in the 80s. The rooms have wooden doors with metal keys and there's like one employee running the show. Prime location comes with the cost of urban noise at least through 1AM.
Breakfast consists of a bland array of mixed greens, cereal, bread and some cheeses nothing to write home about. You will need to pay 40NIS for parking at one of the adjacent hotels.
Bottom Line- Dan gardens makes for a fair arrangement and satisfactory value for money for mid level business travel and low budget excursions. Don't plan your honeymoon at this hotel- this is no Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Overall nice hotel. Clean. We were upgraded to a sea view room. The room was more then i expected. The hotel is in a great location. One downside was a lot of noise from the street below but the view was worth it. Breakfast is minimal but good. It was good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Gat, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The attitude of the staff gave us a wonderful feeling and a will to come back again.
We got a full refund for the price we paid.
Our visit was during a short weekend. We enjoyed the quiet and the service that we had been given very much.
As soon as we entered with our heavy luggage, the staff came for our help.
We made the check-out on time but even so we were told beforehand that we can take our time.
To make it short, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and from the service that we had been given.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dan Gardens Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Gardens Haifa

Address: 124 Yefe-Nof St., Haifa 34454, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dan Gardens Haifa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming bed and breakfast hotel set in a beautiful location, high up on Mount Carmel. This intimate hotel is situated in one of Haifa's most lovely streets, just a few minutes stroll from the gorgeous Louis Promenade. This hilltop promenade offers the most romantic spot to take in the magnificent panoramic views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline and provides a birds-eye view of the splendid Bahai Temple with its famous hanging gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dan Gardens Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Gardens Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Gardens Hotel Haifa
Haifa Dan Gardens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Gardens Haifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.