We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Save Saved
You added Dan Carmel Haifa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Haifa
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great location! Very nice view.
New rooms and classic furniture ....
Friendly staff and tasty breakfast !!!
2 thinks that have to improve: house Kipling have to start knock on doors after 08:00 am!
Pay 40 nis for parking in 5 stars hotel it's a shame!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    99
    31
    20
    15
See reviews for
78
80
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Everything seemed perfect to us. This fairly newly renovated hotel has all of the conveniences that you hope for when traveling: free and adequately fast wi-fi, lots of outlets in the room, great bathroom with a fantastic shower, great service, plenty of a TV stations, great food and a fantastic view of the port of Haifa. Couldn't ask for more and I highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Atop the Carmel mountain sits this fantastic hotel. It is not the newest hotel but it is well kept.

The view from the rooms is fantastic and couple of minutes walk will bring you to the boardwalk overlooking the haifa city and port.

The rooms were spacious and clean.
Food was quite good considering the Kosher limitation but this is of course important for observant Jews.

One main downfall for me was the gym. It is tiny, not ventilated and equipped like it was built in the soviet era. If this is important to you the other Dan hotel nearby has a much better modern gym.

All in all a good experience and I would recommend it to anyone not looking to have a gym at their hotel :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear URI_FI
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. The Dan Carmel was built in 1964 and it has been totally renovated during the last year.
All our rooms are new and we just completed and re-opened our new swimming pool and the new gym. The gym is now equipped with the newest equipment and I am sure that at your next stay with us you will be able to enjoy it and see the difference.
Waiting to see you back at the Dan Carmel!

Doron Keren
Hotel Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great view from the room (I had a sea view), the hotel was clean and the staff helpful BUT the food was not great (the kitchens being kosher probably didn't help from my perspective although obviously would be a good choice for a observant Jew - of which there were many staying), coffee and teas were not replaced unless I asked, used glasses and coffee cups were again not replaced. The atmosphere was polite but a little uninspired and there is really not much in the Carmel centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear julian_loves_lobster,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay; it is through guest feedback that we can develop for the future.
Throughout the hotel, every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest service at all times; we have therefore been sure to take on board any comments made in a bid to ensure of no falls in the future; thank you for highlighting these areas to us.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back for a more balanced and improved impression.
Best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I am frequent stayer in Dan Carmel for many reasons which include , great location (situated in the heart of carmel centre) , close to Bhai Gardens , walking distance to many good restaurants(Giraffe is my favorite one) , great value of money , excellent hospitality , super excellent breakfast and very well trained staff members . This hotel is by far the best hotel in Haifa and I would say in Israel. Keep it up and looking forward to see you soon.

Room Tip: Facing sea side and get room on 4th floor and above..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had a great room with an incredible view of the bay. There is a nice promenade just behind the hotel that I walked numerous times, at all hours. The room itself was quite luxurious.

The breakfast has an incredible selection but I would recommend keeping your choices simple (hard to do!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear HFK129
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Dan Carmel with other fellow readers.
It is my pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you among our guests again
Thank You
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a really nice hotel, newly renovated with the most stunning view imaginable from it's location high on a hill in Haifa. The view from the room was unobstructed offering a breath taking panorama of the city and the harbor beyond. The room was a good size with a small balcony and large glass sliding door and windows. There is a window between the bathroom and the room which is a first for any hotel I have ever stayed at but it does have a blind that can be closed and probably the best view in the world from a bathtub. The food at the hotel was very good and the service as well. All staff were helpful and friendly.The swimming pool was also very nice. I can't imagine a better choice for this city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear JohnTampaBay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Dan Carmel Hotel with us and what a lovely review it was!
We're so proud of everything we do for our guests and you simply took the wrods out of our mouth; we can't thank you enough.
Please come back again soon, we'll be looking forward to welcome you.
Best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Haifa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Carmel Haifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.