We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Save Saved
You added Dan Carmel Haifa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Haifa
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Improved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in the same hotel five years ago. It was a bit dated then... I was very pleasantly surprised to find the room I stayed in completely updated! Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nicely done with separate bath and shower. Complementary chocolates and bottled water were a nice touch upon arrival. Business lounge was nicely accessible and well appointed with snacks. Corporate rate was quite reasonable for this level of accommodation. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sign at pool suggested a high rate. I never got to try it as it closes at 5PM? WiFi speed was also much better than I remember from before. It is a bit further away from things compared to some of the other hotels, but the neighboring core area is within a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    96
    31
    20
    14
See reviews for
75
79
17
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and children (grown-up) have just spent this last weekend at the Dan Carmel in Haifa to celebrate my husband's birthday. Just to let readers know that this is a very nice hotel, reception staff pleasant and helpful, lovely rooms overlooking the bay, and very good food - breakfast and dinner. We spent most of the weekend around the pool which was indeed enjoyable. The only setback in my opinion was that there was no entertainment arranged for the hotel guests on the Friday night, such as a local singer, or standup comedian, etc.). The hotel is very centrally located and a good weekend was had by all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Dan Carmel. The room had everything we needed, the bed was enormous, the food was extremely good, the swimming pool a sheer delight and the view of Haifa Bay whether by day or night can hardly be matched.
Haifa is an interesting city on the green slopes of Mount Carmel and is a good base for tours of all northern Israel.
The staff of the hotel were very attentive and courteous.

Note: The hotel plans renovations in the coming months.Check in advance when booking.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel overlooks the bay. The other - the rooftops of upper Haifa. Obviously the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I spent a wonderful weekend with my family in Dan Carmel. This is a beautiful hotel located in a beautiful and very convenient spot.
Excellent service, excellent food and excellent atmosphere.
Easy to get to, convenient parking, close to the Carmel centre to enjoy restaurants and other shopping but not too close to be disturbed by noise.

Room Tip: Face the bay/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your great review,
Warm words like yours give us the motivations to provide best service to our guests.
Hope to see you again.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

When I am travelling to Haifa, I prefer staying in this hotel. It is luxurious, comfortable, clean. The rooms are big with a view to the Haifa bay, a balcony, and it come with some treats as well.
Breakfast is very diverse and offers from healthy food to sweets, deserts and cornflakes.

The location is good, walking distance to the Carmel center and some nice attractions.
One bad thing, though common in Israel: Parking cost extra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to the hotel,
We are trying to give more to our guests, beyond their expectations.
Hope to see you again
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've stayed there for a weekend as a couple of adults and 3 kids. We took 2 adjusted rooms for that. The rooms from floor 4 (I think, we were on floor 6) are renovated and although not big in size, are extremely practical with a big, modern and very nice bathroom facility, great and very comfortable bed, TV and air con. The rooms were also very clean day after day and all the small things (pillows, towels, etc) are of high quality and very nice. The view we took was for the Carmel Mt and sea which was standard, but Haifa has a really beautiful sea port and I'm sure the rooms (more expensive) with view to that port is nicer. The balcony is small and not really usable, only a place for the 2 chairs that are outside. The parking is at the hotel site but for additional cost (not too much, but still...) and within a walking distance it is one of the centers of Haifa with good place to eat, supermarkets, public transportation, etc. There is also a nice swimming pool (standard one). The facilities specifically for kids are not great, the kids club is really small and not really can be called "kids club", the swimming pool is standard which is great for adults, but not so attractive for kids. The hotel staff was very very nice and helped us with places to eat, go and even the kitchen helped us with some requests we had for food for our smallest baby. The hotel is very clean and nice and quite, and the location is great if you like inner city locations. I think it's a great option for business trips or for couples, less ideal for families with smaller kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing the Dan Carmel Hotel.
We understand you stayed at one of our renovated room and we are appreciate you
Took the time to write a review.
Your remarks are of a great value to us in our efforts to improve .
Thanks you,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was excellent, the food was very good and the service was outstanding. The gym and spa need expansion and renovation because they are very old. Bottom line, we are very enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Dan Carmel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Recommended Order Executive level room (Ours was 912) with a view of Haifa Bay, Private balcony, fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for the warm words about the hotel.
We have completed our renovations at the rooms floors and the next step is our public area and spa.
Hope to see you more at the hotel,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Haifa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Carmel Haifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.