We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, pretty decor, but terrible breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Templars Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Templars Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Templars Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Ben Gurion Boulevard | The German Colony, Haifa, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Haifa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good location, pretty decor, but terrible breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the room is modernly designed, quite nice. everything is satisfactory, and the location is very good.. however, the breakfast was absoloutely terrible.. you are allowed to choose between three different options, all of which are very dull.. i had the shakshuka, it took 25 minutes to prepare, and we didn't received half of the food we were promised on the menu, and after having reminded them, we were rudely approached. the shakshuka consists of tin canned tomatoes and is one the most horrible ones i've had in my life. all the waitresses lack basic service awareness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
61
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed recently for two nights at this small stylish boutique hotel in Haifa - business and pleasure
Great location and superb staff - courteous , friendly and helpful (nothing was too much trouble)
We stayed in the "Albatross" room and while there was a lot of street noise ,we accept that is part of being right on the main (and attractive ) heart of the German Colony with a balcony and great views
The room was modern - a spacious attractively furnished room , with excellent bath and shower.Nice supply of bathroom cosmetics Free ( and very fast ) WiFi .
More than adequate breakfast served in adjacent cafe where the service was variable
Free parking behind the hotel was extremely convenient
Minor complaint. Better quality bed linen would enhance the Boutique experience
Would,definitely recommend and would stay again without a second thought

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh Pina, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Templars Boutique is a new and lovely small, cosy, hotel. It is located in the lower part of Haifa, in the center of a lovely (and quiet) shopping and dinig area, and very close to the Haifa-white-sandy-beach.
Hotel-stuff is young, very well trained, and very courteous.
Breakfast is served in the garden, under old large olive trees. It is based on fine cofee and a large selection of various fresh-tasty breakfast platters.
Rooms are large, quiet, and very elegant.
The hotel is suitable for loving couples, it is certainly not a place for kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent 4 days at this hotel and I was blown away by the quality for such a low price. My room was possibly slightly small for some, but I personally found it ideal. Thje style was modern and included lots of nice touches including a PROPER rainforest shower and a robe. I loved the blue "mood" lights in the room. A perfect place to relax after a hard day. I cannot praise the staff highly enough. Despite arriving and departing on very anti-social flights (I arrived at the hotel at 0430am and departed at 0100am, the staff were very welcoming and even took the trouble to call me just before I lft to check if I needed anything. There is no parking at the hotel ,but all the local parking is free and I had no trouble to find a parking space within 50 metres of the hotel. Right onto the breakfast. This is not served in the hotel itself, but instead in the restaurat next door. This is NOT a bad thing! There is a good selection of breakfasts here (which were included in the room rate). I personally fell in love with the shakshuka - a wonderful combination of lightly spiced stewed tomatoes and two fried eggs, served with a wonderful sharp soft cheese, a salad and enough pita bread to choke a camel. It was two days before I realised I was effectivley eating vegertarian! This also came with a hot dink and a cold drink. The price for the room incliuding breakfast was exceptionally low esp. considering the location in the German Colony (a great area) and was significantly lower than hotels of a similiar standard in Haifa. The only minor negatives I can find is that the wireless signal was not strong enough to reach my room and being on the ground floor there was no external view.

Room Tip: The Unicorn room is a fantastic feeling and quiet room, but has no external view and the wireless si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We elapsed for a romantic 2 night (mid week) vacation. The room was very similair to the detailed photos shown in the hotel's site- which is always a lovely surprise since so often the photos are misleading. We took the Albatrosse suite and could actually see the Bahaian amazing gardens from our small and cozy porch. The German settlement- where the hotel is situated- is beautiful.
You shlould consider though that as this is a "boutique" hotel there arent any public facilities: Breakfast (sorry to say that it was poor) is actually served by the next door cafe, Massage, if ordered, is in the room since there is no SPA (so I had to take a trip while my husband was relaxed..), the small lobby didn't even have toiletes (out of order).
Even so, I liked the privacy and the uniquness of this place - the stone houses and the design of the suite. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spend few days in this hotel in Haifa, the atmosphere is magic, the hotel is located under the amazing Baha'i gardens and the hotel its self is located in very old building from 1800 something and is renovated and the rooms are amazing and comfortable, the staff is very helpful and i must say this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: get the info where to go from the hotel staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Boutique hotel with personalized service and free parking at the most beautiful street in Haifa with the Bahai Gardens observation. Lobby and restaurant are excellent and so is the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Ask about the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Templars Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templars Boutique Hotel

Address: 36 Ben Gurion Boulevard | The German Colony, Haifa, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Templars Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Templars Boutique Hotel is in the heart of Haifa's German Colony, and overlooks the Baha'i Gardens. It offers luxurious, individually decorated rooms with air conditioning and whirlpool bathtub.All rooms at the Templars Hotel feature a kitchenette and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. There is free Wi-Fi.The Templars Boutique Hotel is set in a historic building of 1872, prized within the colony for its excellent renovation work.Hotel Rooms: 13 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Templars Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Templars Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.