We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loui Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Loui Hotel to your Saves list
Loui Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 He Halutz, Haifa 33113, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Haifa
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel offered a generally clean room for a great price in a good location. Don't stay here if you are looking for a lot amenities, large bathrooms, are travelling with a lot of luggage or are a light sleeper.

There are a couple sets of stairs to climb, although the staff is more than willing to help out. Noise tends to echo in the hallway so you can hear doors opening and closing from your room. Parking is street parking and was ample on Sirkin St during the afternoon onwards, one block North (the lower street in elevation). Again the staff will go with you to show you where it is. Plan on arriving then if you want to park, as the non meter spots fill up during the morning and start to clear by afternoon. As others have mentioned, the area where you park looks shady, more so because its quiet and dark. We didn't experience any problems.

There was a flat screen tv provided with tons of satellite channels if you have the time to sort through all of it. The location of the property is about a 25 min walk to the German colony and a 5-10 min walk to the train station that goes up Mt Carmel.

The rooftop has a nice view and worth enjoying when you have some downtime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We made the unfortunate choice to book this hotel on Dec. 26th. From the beginning, we were lied to. Don’t let the fact that it shares a name with the Louis Promenade deter you into thinking this hotel is anywhere near that part of town. To call this a boutique hotel is such a misnomer, I can barely write this without laughing! This is more like an apartment complex for junkies. I have no idea where the pictures they use on hotels.com come from, but they are NOT this place! The location is in a VERY seedy part of town and if you have your own car, you will be parking on a very rough looking street filled with moaning junkies and prostitutes, located behind the hotel. The rooms have other’s hair all over them (floor, beds), pieces of old soap in the shower, urine still in the “freshly-cleaned” toilet, and a heater that barely works. Honestly, the worst hotel/motel experience we have had since we stayed right outside the Taj Mahal in Agra, India (which we expected to be shady). We were told they only had one room available (they had several). We were told it would take an hour to be cleaned (though this was already 6 pm and it took until 8:30 pm). We were told the ‘German Colony’ (restaurants, etc.) was a 5-10 min. walk away (perhaps 45 min or so as we never made it in 30 minutes). Returning to the hotel, at 8 pm, the room was still not ready. On top of this, our hotels.com reservation was cancelled by the staff so that they did not have to pay hotels.com the standard 10% of the rate and could instead keep 100% of the rate. I completely understand this but when they cancel our reservation, we also lose our credit for one night’s stay towards a free room; the reason we use hotels.com. Please save your money for another hotel. By far the best part of this place was the kind service at the front desk provided by the owner’s brother (though he was the one that made all the lies) and another nice worker. They were very sweet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was ok in general with fine breakfast nearby. I had booked this hotel for two nights in May 2013 with booking.com, but wanted to cancel the second night. We agreed with the hotel manager, that I will right a fine review for them and they will cancel the 2nd night on the day of the arrival, but the same day as I completed it upon return home, I was charged for the second night. I asked my bank to check if it was a mistake and it was not. I never believed in coincidences and this is definitely not the one. I would not recommend to stay at the hotel, where managers risk to damage their reputation for the cost of a one-night stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel has immaculate rooms and is very reasonably priced. The staff is absolutely outstanding and very helpful. By far one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. This is the place to stay when in Haifa or the surrounding area. The staff not only provided me with outstanding service but also assisted me on numerous occasions regarding advice on where to go and what to do. An absolutely fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed just one night in at the Loui Hotel in one of the garden rooms off the street. The room was very clean, with pretty furnishings and a convenient cooking area. There was no noise from the street (you are behind the main buildings) and with air conditioning we were very comfortable. The owner was very friendly, suggesting walking tours and places to see. The location was good - 10 mins from the underground up to the higher part of Haifa (then a 10 minute walk to the Baha'i Gardens). We were lucky with parking, and found a spot in the street behind the hotel. If we return to Haifa I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took 4 rooms for us and extended family visiting from the US for my son's graduation. Rooms very nice. We had 2 garden rooms and 2 upper rooms near rooftop. Lower rooms very accessible. I found garden nicer than rooftop patio. Security very good, entrance with codes - important in a busy city. Owner is wonderful, patient and helpful. Good breakfast at cute nearby cafe. Price very reasonable. Parking free on public street a block below. Parking area not exactly dangerous but not nice. Might not be nice for someone alone late at night.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

First of all you should know that this looks more like an apart hotel or a room rental than a hotel. Louis M was a wonderful surprise.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave me great recomendations and maps and were really pleasant yo talk. The rooms were wonderful. Very modern, clean and complete. Excelent bathroom. Very secure. They also have a really nice terrace.The breakfast was on a restaurant nearby (150m - 3 minutes) and was simple but OK.
I would extremelly recommend this hotel.
I went there with a rented car and I have free plave to park nearby.
Free wi fi anywhere on the hostel. There is also a free computer for public use on the reception.
The location was not the best in town but not bad also. This is the only thing I could criticize about Luis M.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loui Hotel

Address: 35 He Halutz, Haifa 33113, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from the Bhaies Garden and Temple, the Loui Motel Apartments offers free Wi-Fi. Its air conditioned rooms have a kitchenette with fridge and teakettle. Rooms at the Loui Apartments are decorated in a simple style. Each comes with an LCD TV, a small dining area and private bathroom. The property has a relaxing roof terrace with views of the Mediterranean Sea and Mount Carmel. Haifa Port is a 10-minute walk away, while the main shopping streets are just around the corner. The Bahá'í World Center and the Bhahis Temple are one mile away. Haifa Train Station is a 20-minute walk away. An Israeli breakfast is available at a nearby restaurant. Other dining options in the area include European and Middle Eastern cuisine for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loui Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.