We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st. Heinrich Heine st. | Off 30 Moriah Blvd., Haifa 34485, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Haifa
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with a great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This 1940s hotel has been restored with great attention to detail. It is on a quiet residential street, within easy walking distance of several small restaurants. You can also walk to the Bahai Gardens, which takes you through and area with more restaurants, shops and hotels.

We arrived early, and while we received a very warm welcome, we were not able to check in early. The receptionist gave us great directions to all the places we could reach on foot. Our room was a standard, room #2. It is directly behind the reception area, and very close to the restaurant. The room was a good size, and had a little seating area with a desk and a window, which allowed one of us to rest and one to work. The bathroom was quite modern and very well equipped.

We don't usually eat in hotel restaurants, having been disapapointed too many times. However, we did eat at Villa Carmel, and the food was outstanding. The patio is lovely, and since it was unseasonably warm while we were there, we enjoyed a lingering breakfast there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room #2, or other rooms that are close to the restaurant. Its a noisy, lively place un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
38
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

They've managed to screw up pretty much everything in the <12 hours that I spent there:

1) The hotel lists itself as a 5-star property with most agents. When in reality under star rating criteria it doesn't stand a chance to go over 3. The rooms are extremely small (12 sqm at most) and there are no facilities what so ever, not even a 24h front-desk. Not that I mind 3 star hotels, but this one's price matches it's 5-star disguise.

2) When I asked the reception staff about the 5-star incident they replied "We're free present ourselves as we wish", which was their overall attitude toward guests, so my second point here, is staff attitude (hotel owner in particular) is extremely disappointing.

3) They attempted to rip me off while I was checking out by charging me an extra $40 for the night. When I asked about the addition, the receptionist replied "it's the USD/ILS exchange rate", but when I asked what exchange rate she had used, I was still overcharged by $40 with her exchange rate (which was a ripoff on it's own). She ended up refunding that transaction, after which I insisted to pay in USD.

4) The location is extremely strange. Inside a residential street, with nothing around really...

My overall advice: don't even think about it.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3, which was absolutely horrible. I don't know about the rest but I'm guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarmelManagment, General Manager at Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello Sir,

First of all we were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel but we must point out some of the reviews you mentioned:
- the room that you stayed at was the standard room (the room that you booked through booking.com) is the smallest room that we have at the hotel.
- The reception Office at the hotel is available 24 hours a day-that is why a receptionist was waiting for you at 3 am.
- Villa Carmel is a boutique hotel-a star system is no longer used in Israel (you can check that information with the tourism office).
- VAT payment- your reservation through booking.com was made as an israeli citizen which by law in Israel has to pay VAT.If you arrive with a tourist,In order to avoid VAT payment, the reservation has to be on her name (which wasn't the case).
-Our staff is known as very friendly to her guests.
- One of the advantages of staying at Villa Carmel is the location.The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood,5 min away from restaurants and 10 min walking distance from the bahai gardens .

Thank you
Villa Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, wonderful friendly staff, and a charming, offbeat antidote to the "different city, same hotel" syndrome. Definitely gives you a slice of life in the best possible way.

It had all the amenities of larger hotels (including money exchange at a good rate), a wonderful breakfast, and spa facilities (which I did not use.) No pool, if that matters to you. My wife and I had a lengthy stay and by the time we left we felt like family. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on an upper floor. The room we had next to the reception area (cannot say &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Before arrival we had great expectations. What we found justifies a 80$ (in this case I would rate it much higher) and not 270$ per night as we paid.
The place is neglected. Where shall I start? The bathroom's mirror was dirty. Repairs that were done with different materials than the original. We didn't get a laundry bag. The breakfast was poor. No yellow cheese, or any "french" cheese. Salads looked like they are leftover from previous day. Poor selection of bread. The stuff was nice and very polite. To sum it up, a reasonable hotel for 80$ a night but not a Boutique Hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Disappointing . Nice quiet neighbourhood would seem to be main attraction of this hotel but interior decoration of our room - which was quite large, was awful - dark brown walls and carpet , not very good lighting - very depressing I counted five different materials - concrete finishes and wood and various tiles in the bathroom - poor lighting and meagre toiletries for a Spa hotel .Worse was lack of proper cleaning - bath surrounds were dirty
Very nice spacious balcony attached to room
Reception staff adequate but not very friendly
Breakfast staff better but breakfast itself tired and uninspiring .
Free parking and free wifi
For what it promises ,very disappointing and needs new management and a "shake up "
Would not stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa... The room was 'fine'... A little aged and needed some TLC.
We had an issue, and causing me to write this negative review.
As my girlfriend got out of the shower she was reaching for her bath robe and found a large flying cockroach inside of the robe. Was quite a terrifying experience for her.
The young guy that was working the front desk did his best to address the situation (he sent some wine and cake), but he was not a manager and probably not trained to deal with crisis situations.
The next morning, I made every effort to connect with a manager or owner, Both of which were not making themselves available. I also left my cell phone number, I never received a phone call.
When I checked out I was offered a 15% discount, but that is simply insulting.

Any good hotel management would look for any opportunity to differentiate their service, and this was a complete lost opportunity.

On another note, this was the lowest quality food or breakfast that we encountered during the trip. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a night at Villa Carmel.
The hotel as a huge potential as it has a very European and pitoresque feel to it but for a 5 star hotel you'd expect rooms to be totally dust free as this caused us not to be able to sleep relaxed.
We had to change rooms because the first had even more dust.
To have a nice carpeted room is cozy but it must be vacuumed properly on daily basis.
The finishing touch must be better maintained (spots and cracks in bathrooms)
If this is taken into consideration and something is done about it, then it'd give it indeed 5 stars as staff quite friendly and aiming to please.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel

Address: 1st. Heinrich Heine st. | Off 30 Moriah Blvd., Haifa 34485, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with superb amenities and comforts, prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.