We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and clean but can be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel Haifa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel Haifa to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel Haifa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Ben Gurion Street, Haifa, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Comfy and clean but can be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for only one night during my trip in Israel and I'm pleased to say it was an enjoyable stay. The rooms are clean and somewhat spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and had nice fluffy pillows (unlike those which flatten instantly when you rest your head on them).

The hotel breakfast was probably the best thing during my stay; the spread includes salads, eggs, quiches and pastries.

However, this hotel can be improved on. The taps and shower hose were a little faulty and the water temperature fluctuated quite a bit despite the knob being fixed at a certain temperature.

Overall, still an enjoyable stay. I would probably stay here again when I come back to Haifa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    115
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
87
129
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have just spent 5 nights at this hotel and although it was charming it was somewhat 'faded elegance'. The bathroom was beautifully tiled etc but only had a very ordinary removable shower over the bath, not the sort I'd want to stand under, and the taps were decidedly wonky -it was difficult to get a consistent temperature. The most bizarre thing was the bath plug which consisted of a flat rubber disc which you had to position over the drain hole. This was all a bit hopeless and as fast as you filled the bath, the water seeped away, definitely not conducive to a luxurious soak!
The hotel overall was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and polite - most spoke English. A special mention to the receptionist 'Chava' who was delightful.
The literature, however, is misleading. They advertise a Coffee Shop - there isn't one; they advertise a Bar - there isn't one of those either, and they advertise 'High End' shops in the vicinity - there aren't any shops apart from a run-down mall at the bottom of the road selling cheap, nasty t-shirts, cheap jewellery and a chemist shop. We couldn't find a newspaper anywhere at all.
The hotel has a sunroof which is frequently used for photoshoots and parties - one of which took place on the Friday night we were there without any warning. The noise went on till midnight. The Israelis in general are not good at disseminating information, so you might want to ask before you go!
Overall, the hotel was very nice in a good location, but I wouldn't rate it at more than 3 stars by English standards.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a double bed if that's what you want. My friend had two singles pushed togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

very charming hotel, well situated, friendly staff, clean rooms, super breakfast with a hugh variety of fresh salads, sweets ....
Beds are big an comfortable, bathroom perfect.
Close to the harbour and railwaystation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in the hotel with our two kids.
The hotel is small and nice. you have great patio on the roof overlooking the Bahai Temple and nice garden on the street floor.
Breakfast was good and testy in a cozy dining room. The location is great with walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.
Free parking on the streets behind the hotel. The hotel staff were very nice and were happy to help with any questions.
We will defiantly visit again.

Room Tip: we had a room on 3rd floor (i belive 312) was very large room and with jacuzi.it was quiet and facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Colony Hotel for a week and were pleased with the room, the surprisingly large bathroom, and the breakfast buffet. The dining room staff and cleaning staff are quite nice and friendly and do a very good job.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a great night at the beautiful Colony Hotel right in the middle of Haifa's tourist area. The staff was accommodating and patient with our young children: pullout beds were made up (with chocolates!) when we arrived, they didn't mind that we ate breakfast twice, and they were happy to keep our umpteen backpacks and suitcases for the afternoon. Not cheap, but lovely and easy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is very cute-- nothing fancy, but feels boutiquey. Rooms are a bit small, bc the building is old. Location is great, steps away from the Bahai Gardens and restaurants. I'd read lots of reviews here that the front desk receptionist was rude and short, but it's sort of typical Israeli mentality, they warm up with a little chit chat. We also requested late check out the next morning bec I got really sick in Haifa, and they were nice enough to let us stay the afternoon!

Room Tip: Request rooms not on the main street, or at the corner, by the side streets- hotel is near park, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Address: 28 Ben Gurion Street, Haifa, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel Haifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.