We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bathroom in Haifa!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel Haifa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel Haifa to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel Haifa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Ben Gurion Street, Haifa, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best bathroom in Haifa!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The incredibly deep bathtub in our large, spotless and comfortable room was only one of the reasons we would return to this lovely restored hotel. Its location on a street lined with restaurants made dining convenient and offered a fabulous view of the Ba'Hai Temple from outside the front of the hotel, our room and the rooftop of the hotel. Breakfast was bountiful and served in a lovely, elegant dining room by helpful, well-trained staff. Our room itself was high-ceilinged and large. We choose to stay in this area because of other planned activities, so the only negative were that we wrangled with morning rush hour traffic out of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    115
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
87
129
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a 2 week trip to Israel. I chose this hotel, based on location and price. We were pleasantly surprised. The consierge/front desk staff is friendly but should be more knowledgable as to hours and times that attractions are opened. It would have been helpful had they made us aware of a Jewish fast day, before we had visited Sefat. The rooms were clean and well appointed. This is not a resort hotel, but it is perfect for touring and using it as a home base. Breakfasts were delicious, free internet in the lobby, and convenient for whatever you'd like to do for the day. I would recommend this property and return here on a future trip to this region.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Colony is not a fancy hotel. The rooms are clean and well-designed but small and very basic. But, the location of the hotel, in the center of Haifa, is great. It sits on a busy street with many restaurants. At the end of the street is the entrance to the Bahai shrine, one of the landmarks of Haifa. The Colony also has a wonderful rooftop bar where you can sit outside at night and appreciate this beautiful city. All in all, the Colony is a good value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second stay at the Colony Hotel in Haifa. The first was a couple of years ago and at the time, we thought it was great. We were less impressed on this visit. The location is convenient and the breakfast was great, but the property needs some refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Expected much more after reading reviews.
Staff not that friendly
Breakfast was average.
Rooms small
Did not see anything special about this property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were there for a nine-day visit to the Baha'i properties. The full breakfast every morning was a true feast that fueled us for our rigorous days of touring and the dining area staff was very accommodating. The front desk staff were kind and helpful. The room was attractive, well-sized and the beds very comfortable (from an American standpoint). The view to the Shrine and gardens is spectacular. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon LeZion
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was attending a business in Haifa and it was my third time in this hotel.
The staff is very friendly and efficient, the rooms are nice and comfortable.
Also the hotel is situated right in the middle of Haifa so it's very convenient to get anyplace from it.
I will definitely stay there on my trips to Haifa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Address: 28 Ben Gurion Street, Haifa, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel Haifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.