We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Arabic food at reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Diyar

Al Diyar
Ben Guryon Avenue 55, Haifa, Israel
04-8528939
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 231 Restaurants in Haifa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Arabic food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place was my introduction to Arab cuisine.
The skewered chicken was great as were the dips, salads and bread before our meal.
Friendly and effecient staff and great location near the Bahai Gardens.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great Mid-East food, generous plates and good service. Restaurant is located in the German Colony of Haifa - a beautiful location between the Bahai Gardens and Haifa Bay. The restaurant is clean and pleasant. Salads are fresh and delicious! Prices are reasonable, highly recomended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent mezzes and kebaps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty mear and mezZes. We enjoyed it. I woyld recommend it. Also situated in the so called German colony quarter, a nice area to spend one's evening

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The food is amazing, many salads, every dish was freshly made from superior ingredients including the fish, meat and shrimps and vegetable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst chicken we've ever eaten.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

This restaurant, in the German Colony restaurant row, is very attractive, and the aromas coming from the grill are enticing. We ordered grilled chicken on sticks. The "chicken" pieces were odd bits of mostly skin and fat with some meat. When you pressed them with a fork, liquid came out, and the texture was very soft and processed. This was the worst example of "pumped" chicken, in which saline solution is injected into the chicken to make it heavier and juicier, we have ever seen. The grilled shrimp were fine, but the chicken ruined the meal. Both were served with rice reminiscent of reheated day-old Indian take-away rice. Need I say more? Don't eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Diyar also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to Al Diyar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Diyar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.