We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for middle class hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aviv Spring Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aviv Spring Hostel
Save
You added Aviv Spring Hostel to your Saves list
126 Ofarim Lane, Eilat 88112, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Eilat B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for middle class hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights. it is a good middle class hotel. we had a big room with 4 sleepingplaces.. enough space for the 2 of us. friendly staff.. only breakfast isn't very good.. location is about 10 min walk from the center. we paid about 67 euros a night. perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollanda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Rooms & prices:
*When we first came to the motel, woman at reception told us we were first to reserve a room using booking.com, and she don’t know how to handle this.
*Though, she gave us a cheaper 300 ILS/night room (cheapest option available through booking.com was 506 ILS/night) (she told us we had to call her directly to reserve 300 ILS/night room)
*300 ILS night room have no balcony, while 500 ILS/night room features a small balcony with very nice view (it cost it, I think)
*Price, displayed on booking.com was 439 ILS/night, but they told us there’s something with dollar rate or something, and it cost us 506 ILS/ night.

Other:
*Swimming pool: it’s size is about 5m*2m*1m (Length*width*depth). It's working 16-00 till 20-00. You should ask for a key at the reception. (???)
*No towels by default, you should ask for them at reception.
*Half-day price for late check-out (19-00)
*You can leave your stuff at their luggage room, but they won't let you keep your room to, say 21-00.
*No ventilation in toilet
*simple built-in-wall shower
*no soup (???)
*rooms are clean at a first glance, but lots of dust under the bed.
*when you leave your key at the reception (it’s mandatory) conditioner in your room is turned off automatically. (When you return, room would be hot.) I never saw such a “feature” before. At least regular 220v is not turned off, so you can charge your devices.
*Breakfast is included, but don't count on it: you'll need one more outside of the motel. No cheese, no croissants, just bread, cottage cheese, and most simple salad.


Rather clean, nothing ruined.
Nice balcony with quite a view (it cost it)

Room Tip: Call them. Not all options might be listed in the web. Rooms with balcony have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have been staying in Aviv hostel for years on every vacation to Eilat. I was astounded to see the reviews from before the last January, it was so not true. Glad to see that people started to appreciate the place.

Overall - the hotel is conveniently situated just 3 minutes walk from the central bus station in Eilat. The hotel is a family-run establishment with caring and professional staff. The hosts are hospitality itself. The building is new and kept in good condition. The rooms offered in a range of accommodations, starting from basic rooms without balconies to large family suites with plenty of space, balcony and even a sea view (stayed in them all, on this visit in a family suite). The rooms are equipped with great air conditioning, kitchenette, small refrigerator, cable TV (never used them though), and of course en-suite toilet and shower. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds offer great quality of sleep. The hotel offers free wi-fi (on every floor), a cosy swimming pool and a breakfast.
Excellent hotel at most reasonable price (for Eilat).

In details -
The area
The area is a typical old-Eilat residential area with low buildings, bordered by higher (3-4 stories) hotels. Currently many of the buildings are let as backpackers' hostels, but the area is perfectly safe. It also offers free parking, if needed.

The building
The building of the hotel is a newly reconstructed building with 5 floors. The lower floors offer simpler rooms, the upper floors offer family suites. A small swimming pool is located on floor 1. The pool is shallow, and the hotel policy is to restrict the access to the pool to several hours in the afternoon, to avoid noise and nuisance to a variety of hotel's guests. There is an elevator on one side of the corridor, and a stair-case on the other.

The rooms
The rooms are well air-conditioned, at every season, you get heating at winter and cooling at summer. The conditioning is individually controlled from every room (family suites boast two air conditioners). The beds are simple but comfortable, every once in a while you may come against a flat pillow, which will be with great apologies replaced at the reception desk. A bureau with a mirror is also in every room. The larger suites have a table with chairs in the room. Larger rooms also offer balconies that are not very large but allow great leisure once the sun is not scorching (in the morning or at dusk). Balcony furniture includes a plastic armchair and a plastic low table. The rooms are well cleaned before the check-in, and at least once during the stay, but can be also cleaned daily upon a request. A kettle and a small refrigerator are provided in every room, and larger rooms provide also a sink and a set of kitchen utensils. However, cooking is impossible, so only cold snacks or hot meals from elsewhere.

The services
There is a free unprotected wi-fi on every floor, a swimming pool on the first floor and a billiards table in the lobby. Clean towels are supplied upon request (we just use our own, but not due to a faulty handling by a hotel, just our own habit), and the bed sheets are changed every time the room is cleaned. The breakfast is simple but ample, although we do not usually take it, once again - due to our habits. The room keys are to be deposited at the reception desk when leaving the hotel. The check-in time is usually 14:00, but early arrivals are almost always possible, even without prior notice. The check-out time ranges from 9:00 to 10:00, depending on the season and the occupancy, but occasionally late check-out is possible.

The staff
The staff is very friendly and obliging. The family (Jane and Gadi) are most pleasant people to be met. The hired staff is also keeping up to the high standard of service and knowledge. All the staff is fluent in English and Hebrew, and possibly in other languages (never needed more than that). :) The reception is occupied 24/7, and every issue is handled carefully, thoroughly and courteously to the utmost satisfaction of the guest. Insiders' tips are gladly provided, be it a good restaurant to eat, a good beach to go to, or any other fantasy, such as a musical instrument shop in Eilat.
At least for these reasons it was hard for us to believe to other travellers' allegations regarding the hosts/staff. I still doubt their veracity, on the frank side.

To conclude - I would gladly recommend the place to anyone coming to Eilat either on business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Kirmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I arrived at the Aviv without any reservation at midnight at the end of February 2012 and was quoted 150 NIS bed and breakfast for one person in a twin-room. It was the cheapest of the trio of motels and hotels along that street, and the location is very convenient as the central bus station is barely five minutes away on foot.

The motel is clean, has free wi-fi throughout the building, air-con in the room, hot water all night (let the tap run a little bit first) and the bathroom was pretty functional. Good beds (one single and one double) and there’s enough space for luggage. Staff are friendly – and they speak English, too. There’s a fridge, two sockets and a cable TV (which I had no idea how to use) but as my stay was limited to ten hours or so, I’d say the Aviv is a fine place to kip for the night.

Good amenities nearby with a 24-hour shop just 50 metres away, and the city centre is not much further either.

Next door motels were similar and ranged from 150 to 250 NIS per night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgeron, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This motel is very quiet and the staff is very nice... They give you good advices of what to do...
Rooms are clean and fully equiped (Tv, refrigerator, A/C), even the smallest ones.
The breakfast is very simple but it exists, but you can find a very nice and cheap bakery at 2mn walking (2 NIS for one chocolate croissant !)
The swimming pool is very small and opened only from 4pm to 8pm... Also, it's an extra !
Wifi is provided for Free in all rooms...
Good address in Eilat, a little bit far from the center and the beaches... But it's the price to be quite !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tot0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I read the frightening reviews below and as others have written- maybe the ownership has changed?
I have stayed here 3 times and have always had a good experience.
The place is very clean, the room I got last time was very big and included a kitchenette.
There is a relatively small "motel style" pool which is nice but I've always preferred the beach.
A basic breakfast is also provided.
Location: on a quiet street with ample parking space. It's a 15 minute downhill walk to the beach, mall and nightlife area. there are many more centrally located options but they will usually be more expensive.
I would say this place is best for people who want a good clean base to explore Eilat and its surroundings, not for someone who want a resort hotel where you spend most of your day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Balboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here (Motel Aviv) for two nights. I can just support the last rating, no idea what the older entries are complaining about. The owner was very friendly and helpful organinzing a trip to Petra. The rooms and corridors were extremely clean, with a good atmosphere. There is a swimming pool but we didn't use it. Breakfast could have been better, though it was acceptable. Price rates are okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zotlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
0.0 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#36 of 65 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Herods Boutique
Herods Boutique
#5 of 65 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Eilat
0.1 mi away
Nova Like Hotel Eilat - an Atlas Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holitel Siesta Eilat All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviv Spring Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviv Spring Hostel

Address: 126 Ofarim Lane, Eilat 88112, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Eilat
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Aviv Spring Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing