We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Reef Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Reef Hotel to your Saves list
Orchid Reef Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almog Beach | PO Box 651, Eilat 88105, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Eilat
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cheap and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I did not want to stay in the center of Eilat as that is like staying in an attraction park. So that is why we ended up at this place. I was quiet disappointed. The area is dirty and there where ants in my bed.There was an intense smell in the hallway. The view from the room was nice. Make sure you ask for a room away from the road. The beach is very small and the music is so loud that it is like beeing in a night club, The service at the beach is very friendly. Coffee delicious. Breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, General Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Miri,
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Your opinion is very important to us and we appreciate for taking your time to write this review.
I was sorry to read that your stay at the New Orchid Reef Hotel in Eilat was not a good experience. Your comments are being taking serious care of by our staff.

You are more than welcome to contact us in any way you find and give us your full review so we can improve ourselves in the future.
Regarding the view- As the hotel was fully booked I couldn’t upgrade your room to pool view ,as your reservation was reserved on Deluxe room you have received the regular view please note to assure your reservation to be on sea view or pool view you need to reserve the room type "deluxe pool view". I apologize for the inconvenient regarding the music from the beach-I would like to notify you that it was not from the hotel and as per the law they may play music until 24:00.
Orchid Reef Eilat is one of the finest hotels in Eilat with the most recommendable reviews in all sites.
I truly hope that on your next visit to Israel you will choose to stay with us and I kindly ask you to contact us to reassure you that we always strive to deliver a first class product and an extraordinary service.

Sincerely,
Hava volfovitz
General manager of orchid hotel eilat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
55
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We are visiting eilat the second year in a row and we come back to this hotel. The rooms are clean and comferble. The workers are kind and helpfull. The pool is right next to the beach. The cost is a bit higher than the other hotels but it is worth it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights here in Feb '13 before and after visiting Petra.

So first, this hotel is out of the main city towards the Taba border. Eilat reminds me way too much of Atlantic City/Vegas and really didn't do it for me, so it was very refreshing to stay out of the city. Plus, the hotel is located closer to the actual good bits of Eilat (like the actual coral reef park, dolphin reef, underwater park, camel riding, etc).

The rooms are great and spacious, beds are comfortable and they have a lovely deck overlooking the ocean. The first floor rooms don't have a view but have a long moat like pool right off their deck which I thought was cool. The hotel is right on the activity beach (kayak, kite surfing launch point), and a little walk down from the real swimming reef. They conveniently provide mask and snorkel, as well as bikes to get places. You can even bike to the Taba border and walk over, it's super close. The pool is great and they have a pool bar with good food for lunch and drinks but it closes early (6?), and the pool area closes at 4pm during winter which stinks.

This hotel had one of the best breakfasts I've had in 5 weeks of traveling the Middle East and a great selection of places to enjoy it (near the ocean or inside if it's cold). I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Dinner choices are a bit limited on this side of town so you either have to cab into town, or just go to the Last Refuge (restaurant in the little strip mall next door) which was absolutely wonderful for dinner.

The staff was fine and on par with the typically apathetic israeli customer service I found. For example, and management if you're reading you should work on this: I got some take out and asked the front desk if they had some forks and knives. They said no. I replied "You have a breakfast buffet downstairs, can't we use theirs?" They said downstairs was closed and still no. So I literally walked right by them, went downstairs to the breakfast buffet, and snagged easily accessible and laid out napkins, knives and forks and walked back to my room. No one seemed to care. This doesn't change the 5 stars because after 3 weeks of traveling in Israel outside of Tel Aviv, this was rather typical to staff demeanor everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear,
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

One of the best I have ever visited, starting with the location, reception staff, rooms, swimming pool, the beach on which this hotel is situated, 100% satisfaction guaranteed. Can not think of one thing that wasn't perfect. Absolutely loved it. Worth every penny spent for this hotel.

Room Tip: Loved it, loved it, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good place - and good service. Good location and very nice rooms. Diving is pretty good to, and there are 2 dive shops few meters from the hotel. Breakfast is very good to. And the price is pretty fair

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in December. Great location on Coral Beach, away from the "Las Vegas" glitz of North Beach in Eilat. Outstanding breakfast, and very nice rooms. My only complaint was the single, small, and very slow elevator.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the beautifully renovated Reef Hotel - once again we were very impressed by this hotel. Upon arrival, we were lucky enough to be greeted by Chava, the Hotel Manager, who made us feel at home immediately and was nice enough to upgrade us to a Junior Suite, which was simply fantastic - an enormous ,modern,spotless,beautiful room with two terraces and an amazing view. The Hotel beach is simply gorgeous, with lovely sunbeds and futons spread out along the sand, a wonderful beach bar/ restaurant serving a wide range of food, and lots of water sport rentals.Although it was November we enjoyed wonderful warm weather and this beach has a truly relaxing atmosphere - absolute nirvana......
It is evident that although the hotel prides itself for its laid back atmosphere, behind the scenes the staff works very hard to ensure that things run smoothly.The Hotel grounds and rooms are kept very clean and the maintenance crew are always busy.The Hotel staff are very efficient and extremely friendly and always willing to help.It is apparent that the Hotel is managed spectacularly- once again,we must thank Chava for that......
If you prefer an intimate,boutiquelike atmosphere during your hotel stay then this is definitely the place for you - we have stayed at many hotels in Eilat and this truly ranks among the best.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I am writing in regard to your recent stay with us here at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the New Orchid Reef Eilat Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Reef Hotel

Address: Almog Beach | PO Box 651, Eilat 88105, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#6 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#9 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
#14 Family Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Reef Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Orchid Reef Hotel, part of Orchid Hotel Management's luxury hotel collection, offers its guests all the advantages of Eilat's finest location, right next to the spectacular beauty of the Coral Beach Nature Reserve. The Orchid Reef is Eilat's only boutique hotel, with 79 spacious rooms and suites featuring a luxurious modern design. Only a few steps away you will find the intimate beach, while the Orchid Reef itself offers a swimming pool, pleasant relaxing and sunbathing areas, a spa complex, a fitness room, an open-air Jacuzzi (coming soon), a restaurant, and a dining room. Here you will discover the perfect vacation that combines all the peace and tranquility of the Red Sea with the excitement of extreme sports on a gorgeous beach ideal for a full range of activities – kite surfing, windsurfing, diving, sailing, and more. The hotel also offers the following services free of charge: Wi-Fi internet access in all areas of the hotel. International phone calls from the hotel lobby. Computer and internet stations in the hotel lobby. Bicycles to help you explore the local area. Beach services, including beach umbrellas, snorkels, and masks State-of-the-art fitness room. Watersports – Sailboards and double kayaks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orchid Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Eilat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Reef Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.