We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better after 20 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Beach, Eilat, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Eilat
Hrusice, Czech
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Better after 20 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel I visited to the 3rd time in last 20 years. The hall and restaurant are new, modern, glassy, the number of appartements (entrance from the pool level, some of them also 1st floor) is increased. Goot hotel for a family holiday, quiet, part of the rooms with small kitchen. Feree wi-fi everywhere. Big advantage - by the Eilat prices is the cheap food and beverage market part of the hotel complex. About 3 minutes to the sea chanell, less than 10 minutes to thze main beach. Contras: 6 PM closes the swimming pool, even the sun is shining till 8:30- 90 PM. All hotels in Eilat are expensive, but hjere you know fopr what you are paying adequante price.

Room Tip: Pool view is more expensive than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    21
    19
    9
See reviews for
27
23
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel room, small and very budget like.Very drab looking and looks like a motel.
Breakfast was good and that's all.Would not recommend this hotel at all.Good for overnight stay if you are passing through.Lots of nice hotels elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Am at the hotel now. I was here several times in the past. It seems to me that the staff needs a reminder to give guests elementary courtesy, at first much worse than the average Israeli directness: I ordered by internet a non-smoking room and the initial room was full of smoke. The receptionist was very rude, mabye had a bad day, but in spite of that eventually brought me to a very nice room with a poool view.
Also the dining room staff need some "help": I noticed one of the staff pick his nose and handle a bagful of
rolls. When confronted he simply lied and denied.
The lifeguard at the pool, a really lovely pool, turned up the music volume to an unbearable level and only after repeated complaints to the management he lowered the noise to a level that enabled conversation. BTW not a single guest requested the loud volume, the lifeguard was simply bored...
In spite of theses complaints it is a very nice, not too expensive place in Eilat, right next to the ice-mall and other attractions and worth coming to if, and only if, you stand up for your rights as a guest. My reservation at the hotel is between 1-4 May and I am writing this reveiw during my stay which will end tommorow.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wife and I go down to eilat at least twice a year , this trip was spontaneous , last minute
Therefore The Ameicana was our only option,
We arived at approx 23:00 and were "Greeted" by a grumpy receptionist, who more or less just shoved over the counter the the Check In forms, wtihout even saying "Good Evening" or something similar
Our room looked like and old garden shed , that needed painting
The breakfast was poor , the stewards wore stained uniforms adding to our general distaste
The mattresses on the pool deck chairs were torn ,and filthy
The Photos do not refelct the the dirt and neglect
Some say, that people who write negative feedbacks on this site maybe porblematicfrom the start or too fussy, I assure you this is not the case with us,But this hotel was such a disappointment , I felt I had to

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The lobby and breakfast were nice but beyond that the place is a dump. The rooms are very dated with worn furnishings. Th pool looks as it was last updated in 1965. The internet worked 1/3 of the time I was there. Traveling by myself it was ok and served it purpose for a inexpensive place to sleep while doing some scuba diving while in Israel/Eliat. But definitely not a place I will seek to visit again. The walls are thin, so expect to hear your neighbors

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel with its deceptive "professional " photos of the property is just plain bad in every respect.....surly front desk staff, rooms with furniture that do not look tired but positively exhausted, dirty, stained room carpeting, bathroom tiles stained with dirty grout and every inch of the room desperately in need of a good cleaning at the very least, not to speak of a full renovation. The huge lobby is very sparsely furnished, somewhat dark and as welcoming as a dentist's waiting room.

I was first given a ground floor room where the drapes had to be permanently closed and the room permanently dark unless you did not care about people walking by looking into your room. When I asked for another room I was told I would have to upgrade at a higher room rate. I went back to my room but was so miserable I returned and demanded a room with both privacy and daylight and was grudgingly accommodated at no extra cost.

The description above is of this second room.

Every inch of this property us in need of a good scrub down to remove scrub marks everywhere followed by coat of paint .

Do not waste your money staying at this miserable excuse for a hotel if you possess any self-respect!

Room Tip: At the very least demand a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the kanyon hakerach (ice mall) as well as bars, restaurants, and several 24-hour convenience stores. Their pool is large and inviting, and breakfasts include every option imaginable!

The rooms were spacious and clean. The air conditioning was most welcome, and we really simply enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: North Beach, Eilat, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Eilat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.