We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars - but only if you pay for the right rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herods Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Herods Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Herods Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Beach, Eilat 88000, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Eilat
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 stars - but only if you pay for the right rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Overall, this is a great hotel. Considered by many to be one of the best in Eilat. Herod's Palace is the largest of the 3 Herod's and is classified as a 5 star hotel because of the more expensive rooms. There are multiple room categories, and if you stay in the bottom category (which is still damn expensive), your experience will not necessarily be 5 star (but will still be great).
We stayed on a half pension rate. The food was plentiful and amazing - not a single fault there. Couldn't be better.
The pool is great, and the beach access is fantastic.
The room was furnished fantastically and very comfortable. However, it wasn't maintained very well. On entry, we discovered a bathroom door that wouldn't shut. it was promptly repaired. Later, we had problems with the toilet flush not working (simply put - the flush action did nothing). Multiple times we had someone come to 'fix' it - and it stayed fixed for periods. But in the end, whenever a flush was required, I simply left the room, opened the access door from the outside, and used my engineering skills to cause it to flush. This experience is something I'd expect in a 2 star hotel.
As I mentioned - apart from those issues - the hotel was really fantastic.

Room Tip: Better rooms are on the higher levels (but you pay for it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    80
    53
    33
    30
See reviews for
152
168
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I travelled from Canada and stayed at the Herods Eilat in late June. It was first rate. Natural beauty and great sea view from our spacious room. Great breakfasts and relaxing pool and spa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fabulous facility with accommodating staff. The kadim suites & sky lounge are very nice - Splurge if you can. Be aware the pool & beach close early. We cancelled our rooms at the Isorotel Royal Beach to stay here - larger rooms, beautiful balconies with landscaping and less $. So happy we chose the Herrod's Palace!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I came to Eilat for a business meeting which I take it is somewhat unusual as everyone else appeared to be on holiday. The hotel is very impressive from the outside as well as the lobby and pool areas. Check in was smooth and I had a nice room on the 9th floor overlooking the pool and Red Sea. The room was large with some type of wooden floor, balcony and fridge. Unfortunately, the wifi (which you have to pay for) was very weak in the room. I could barely get reception. And there is no Ethernet option. So I ended up having to walk to the lobby to get reception. Second, when I opened the balcony, I noticed many small ants coming into the room. So I never went out there again! Third, the bathroom always had a smell to it. Fourth, it doesn't appear that they vacuum or sweep the rooms. After the first day, I put a small piece of tissue on the floor to see if it would be there after they cleaned and it was still there. Lastly, the A/C in my room was weak. I slept with it on high and woke up sweating every morning. My colleagues in other rooms did not have this problem so I guess it depends what room you are in. On the plus side, the food in the restaurants was very good. We arrived late the first night and they kept the restaurant open so we could eat. The buffet breakfast was also very good with a large variety of items available. If you're lucky enough to get someone's attention, they will bring you coffee. In general I would say that service in Israel is non-attentive meaning that people will nod and say yes but then not deliver. One example was calling the front desk for towels and them saying "right away sir" but then nothing shows up. Or sitting at the bar for 10 minutes while two workers are standing at the other end talking to each other before coming over to take your order. This wasn't just at this hotel, but pretty consistent all over Israel. The pool area is quite large and I had no problem finding a chair one afternoon. In the morning, it's nice to walk up and down the promenade in front of the ocean. Getting in/out of the property requires your room key. There is a guard during the day and the back door is locked at night for security. I probably could have asked for another room to solve some of the issues I had but I was gone all day in meetings and couldn't be bothered by the time I got back. Don't get me wrong, I do recommend this hotel. But if you get a room that has issues, ask to be moved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We came to the hotel with our kids we wanted to thank the staff and especially to Nicole she welcome us after a small problem.. Only because of her we disayted to stay at the hotel! Thank you so much we will defiantly return!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for a romantic weekend get away and was very impressed. Staff were fantastic (some of the nicest check in staff I've come across), facilities were lovely (plenty of pool space, quiet areas for couples, kids areas for kids), room was great (apart from green colored grout?!), nothing bad to say about staying here....

Room Tip: I would ask for as high a room as possible just to ensure the nicest view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was for a weekend with my family it was so magical time and an unforgettable experience the service was excellent the food here, I jusst gain a 4 pond. . We will always return to this hotel its like family to us

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herods Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Palace Hotel

Address: North Beach, Eilat 88000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
#8 Business Hotel in Eilat
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Boutique Spa Hotel offering outstanding spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herods Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Eilat
Hotel Herods Palace
Herods Eilat
Herods Palace Eilat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herods Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.