We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away during peak season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Beach | PO Box 1666, Eilat 88000, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Eilat
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay away during peak season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights in the end of July. That is smack in the middle of the busy season and the hotel simply couldn't handle being fully booked, largely by "bridge and tunnel" types.
if you can score a 2 room suite with the extra large terrace than you'll be ok as far as rooms go.
otherwise, expect long lines and slow service just about everywhere in the hotel, i.e.- dining room, bar, snack bar.
If you do go, try May-June or October-November, when it's a bit calmer.

Room Tip: if it's a regular room, ask for 6th floor or higher, on the lower floors, there is very little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mike R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies for the inconveniences and for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible. We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    65
    66
    43
    35
See reviews for
115
73
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Eilat mainly because of price linked to the Crowne Plaza brand. Big mistake.
One of the discussions (arguments) we had with a member of the management was over her insistence that they had a 5 star hotel. We showed them, in the dining room, where the discussion took place, why this can not be considered higher than 3 star. Stained chairs, scratched and scruffy tables, smelly parts of the dining room.
The fault lies in the quality (read poor quality) of the hotel guests.
This hotel caters for a local clientele. In order to keep their prices down they need occupancy as full as possible. This attracts noisy and undisciplined Israels. (I can say that because I am Israeli).
Meal times in the dining room feels like you are in a menagerie with screaming kids and loud parents. It seems that some Israelis have to express how much they are enjoying themselves by raising the decibels, or maybe they actually live like that.
The same went for the lobby area where little kids were allowed to gallop and scream to their hearts content.
The final noise blow came when I was walking back to the hotel and, from a distance of 500 meters, I could hear the entertainment team keeping the guests amused at the pool with shouted exhortations bellowed over mega-blasters.
I ran away to a coffee shop for an hour until the commotion died down.

The price is cheap but so are the guests.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious with balconies to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear BarryIsrael,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the level of noise created by other guests during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are currently staying at the hotel......the stay here has been extremely good and extremely bad!
Breakfast - fantastic
Service at breakfast - fantastic
Bar and Barstaff - pitiful - if you don't speak or read Hebrew, you cannot order anything - no bar menu in English and staff are rude (apart from one man who could see my frustration)
Pool - lovely but SO noisy - they run their kids club at the pool up until 1pm and use microphones, loudly, yelling in Hebrew ( didn't understand what they were saying but I presume updates on races for children, interviewing kids and parents, etc)
Pool Food - ok but again there was no menu in english !
Front Counter - excellent
Room - great
View - amazing
Proximity to everything - short walk

Seems 100% full of families - loads and loads of kids
So, my recommendation - if you speak Hebrew and have kids - great place to holiday!
If you don't, stay away! I'm not coming back, soz !

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear wildchildjojo,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza for a long weekend last weekend. It was a typical Israeli hotel, classified as a 4 star hotel but really 2-3 stars. The nice things were breakfast, free WIFI, and good air conditioning. The beds are hard and the rooms are a bit dated with banged up furniture. The pool area is nice and was crowded but that's to be expected in Eilat in July. A treat was night swimming on Saturday night with dance music from a DJ. This ended at 11 pm so not too late.

Now on to the bad. Right next door, in the Marina, is the Pier 99 bar. They played loud music until 1am on Thursday, and 4am on Friday! I could not get to sleep. My girlfriend called the front desk and was told they know but it's not in the hotel so they can't do anything about it. I even called the police but that did not help. The next night, I bought ear plugs and was able to sleep.

Room Tips: Floor 9 has newer rooms that are in a little better shape. Ask for the higher floors in general as there is a lot of noise in Eilat.

Room Tip: Floor 9 has newer rooms that are in a little better shape. Ask for the higher floors in general as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear injerusalem,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests.

Please accept our sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

....I've stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past; I'm an IHG gold member so figured this was the way forward.....what a fail!

Classed as a 4 or even 5 star, this hotel does not warrant the high status in comparison to the real, valid 5 star establishments in Eilat.

Rooms were shabby, staff miserable (yeah in Eilat?!), check-in was a NIGHTMARE...took what felt like forever, lifts are tiny and old, swimming pool was full of bits of food floating on the surface (Israeli kids can be out of control sometimes) very uncomfortable loungers.

On the plus side; breakfast was acceptable, location is good, parking available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Yatti G,

Thank you for being a IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. I am pleased that you liked our location. However, I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected on some aspects of your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as these issues will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We heard of a deal with what we thought was a good price. Although we go to Eilat often, we usually pay a lot more so we were concerned about what we would find. Not to worry, the hotel gives great value. It is located on the promenade at the marina in North Beach. It is about a ten minute walk past 4 hotels to the beach and more importantly for us, only 5 minutes walk to the new Ice Mall. The Ice Mall is a great attraction worthy of a separate review, but since we went there every day of our stay, proximity was important. We had room a room with a view directly down the center of the lagoon alll the way out to the big ocean vessels anchored miles out. The room was really very nice and I was told that it was renovated last year and the view was fantastic as we could also see Aquaba. Lounging around the pool is a what I like best and I was not disappointed. It was 42 degrees celcious, but tbecasue there was no humidity we were conmfortable. The only meals that we had in the hotels were breakfast and it was more than adequate and on a par with the better hotels in Israel, but admittedly not the same super unbelievabel breakfasts served at the more pricey hotels in Eilat .

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the lagoon, but the rooms in the middle of the hotel see out to the sea. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarinPr, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We do our best to keep our guests happy and a review like yours only tells us that we are on the right track.

We will very much love to see you again among our returning & happy guests!

Best regards,
shiran elkayam
Public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been staying in the hotel for the last couple of years for yearly vacation with my kids.
This is a great option in Eilat and it is getting better every passing year. First, PR manager, Karin is just fantastic, she took care of every little detail of our pre-arrival request, just magnificent.
The check in procedure for our 2 rooms took less than 5 minutes, quick and efficient.
The rooms are clean an modern, all facing the pool and wonderful view of the Marina. We ate at the Lobby and room service mainly which was real nice dairy option for the kids. (Pizza, salads and toasts exc.)
The service is just great, all of the staff are just so attentive and eager to fulfill our wishes, I would mention Yaron the checker at breakfast and pool, he just kept on smiling and assisting us through the week. Last, I would mention Jawad the duty manager, I had a feeling as he is all over the place, speaking gently to the guests, helping us in every issue and in a personal way , I could get a sense of being at home. He truly is a great person and the hotel is lucky to have him on board. Thanks to all of you in Crown Plaza Eilat, hope to see you again next year, Niv.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarinPr, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We do our best to keep our guests happy and a review like yours only tells us that we are on the right track.

We will very much love to see you again among our returning & happy guests!

Best regards,
shiran elkayam
Public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat

Address: 1 North Beach | PO Box 1666, Eilat 88000, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#10 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the splendor of paradise, the renovated Crowne Plaza Eilat hotel is located on the Eilat Promenade across from the Lagoon s rolling beaches. The hotel offers lavish, spacious rooms, perfect for a heavenly vacation the whole family will treasure.Crowne Plaza Eilat hotel houses a large swimming pool, surrounded by lawns.The hotel s Adam and Eve restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich and varied breakfast includes a salad bar with a selection of cheeses and breads. At lunch and dinner, a rich meat menu is offered. Lobby Restaurant is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The spa provides treatments in an intimate ambience while maintaining a tranquil atmosphere and includes an aerobic fitness room with treadmills, steppers, bicycles and wet and dry saunas as well as rooms for massages and cosmetic and mud treatments. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops, trivia games, cocktails, pool activities, music for dancing and more. Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available.** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Eilat
Eilat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.