We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethlehem Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bethlehem Hotel to your Saves list
Bethlehem Hotel
Manger Street, Around 200 meters from Manger Square, Bethlehem P.O. Box 1069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bethlehem
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice to stay there on the Main Street of Bethlehem , fair prices ,acceptable food , not so far from the church of nativity and not so far from the crossing point , safe , not noisy , situated in a live street , Meager street

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here during a conference. The staff was extra friendly and accomodating. The room was huge. Ours had four single beds but two of them pushed together in the middle to make a double bed. Also a small fridge and a table and chairs near the window with lots of extra space to move around. We did see a bug and some flies in the bathroom which made me feel it wasn't so clean. The bathroom didn't have hot water in the middle of the night which I discovered because I was sick and wanted a shower at 3:00am. But at 7:00 when I tried again it was very hot so I'm guessing it's just on a timer. The food was decent but nothing spectacular. But for the deal that we got for the conference, we were very pleased with the value for the price paid. If you're looking for a good deal and aren't too picky, this is a good place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If we stayed again we would stay at a Conventn or Hospice, much cleaner, more helpful, and welcoming, a friend was at a Convent over Christmas same time we were in Bethlehem.
Good sleep however, and very good breakfast, poor location for Manger Square, we were told 5-10 minute walk, it is more like 30 min. walk an steep hills. Taxi to Manger Square is 20 NIS each time.
Communication is misleading, we asked for taxi to Allenby Bridge, and were told a price of 200 NIS all the way, taxi driver wanted 240 NIS when he got there and told Reception in Arabic that he drops us off at the checkpoint, this was not told to us as we knew there is an extra 50 NIS from there to Allenby Bridge Boarder, so taxi driver told us he told Reception this, but not communicated to us or we would have made other arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Had the occasion to take refuge here during the course of turmoil following hurricane Sandy. Found great comfort in what was the feel of the grand hotels of the past. Hard to believe that we were not in a large metropolis, like New York. Fun seeing the many photos of famous personalities that have graced the property over the years. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room although big city sized had all the amenities and comfort one could expect at a price that represented good value.

Parking is convenient and the pub and dining room were elegant, if not gourmet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Bethlehem Hotel in early November 2012 as part of a group of 33. Our room was very well proportioned, although the bed was over large – we could easily have got lost in it. The bathroom was a disappointment as no electricity to shave by and the shower head was poor and the shower curtain had seen better days. The shower was over the bath but no plug so on days when aching from much walking hot bath wasn’t available. The food was fine, but the restaurant was more like a works canteen or school dining room that hotel restaurant. The wine was reasonably price but the exchange between $, GB£ and shekel was quite varied. The staff were efficient and friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice, clean,and the staff were very helpful. I stayed in the hotel with large group, and the hotel was perfect for our trip. Breakfast and dinner buffet had many things to chose from, and the food was tasty. Rooms were large and clean with view over the mountains. the bar area is nice, best coffee and argele you can have. Lovely place A+++++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have just returned from a week in Israel with a party of 33; we used the Bethlehem Hotel as our base for the first 4 nights, staying on a B&B and evening meal basis. I was in a basic room (no fridge), large with a big comfy bed, but which - unfortunately - was a rear of hotel, overlooking the very noisu main road into Bethlehem. Hotel caters for large groups and works reasonably well. Plumbing worked ... but there was the same lack of plugs which I observed in 1999 when I first visited the Bethlehem. Overall, it seems faded and a bit run-down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not back onto the main road into Bethlehem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethlehem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethlehem Hotel

Address: Manger Street, Around 200 meters from Manger Square, Bethlehem P.O. Box 1069
Location: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bethlehem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethlehem Hotel Palestinian Territories

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethlehem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.