We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“How to beat the hoardes of people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church of the Nativity

Church of the Nativity
Manger Square, Bethlehem
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$169*
and up
Jerusalem Super Saver: Day Tours of Jerusalem and...
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Bethlehem
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built over the Grotto of the Nativity by Constantine in 325 A.D., destroyed and rebuilt in the 6th century and renovated in the 11th century by the crusaders, this is the oldest Church in the Holy Land that is still in use.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“How to beat the hoardes of people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is the church which was built on the spot where Jesus was born. Also it is the church where the priests from the three Christian religions have regular fights and arguments. Hence the leaky roof now being fixed by the Arab authority. I spoke to a priest in Greek and he told me off for speaking Greek as he was Armenian. Its quite run down in places but still a wonderful experience.
Finally the coach tour groups come in their hundreds so to avoid them and save yourself a long time queuing, visit early morning or late evening. Also there is a window at 1 - 2 PM when most tourists are eating or still travelling to or from the site

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    115
    59
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't do it, do not say I warned you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went April,2014 one week prior to Easter.
The church is under renovation.
Very noisily, crowed.
Average wait can be greater then an hour.
No one organizes the crowds.
To view the manger site, plus crowds pushing etc.
Hot environment.
And not suitable for disabled visitors.

Due to in fighting by different Catholic Churches. If you not in by 3 pm you will be asked to leave.
As it is the Armenian church needs to have their church service.
No exceptions.

I felt no spiritual feelings.
Church has been totally commercialized by the publics need to push to get in, and not appreciate the significance of the site.

JUST DO NOT DO IT.

In the Palestine controlled zone.
Passport may be required

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“World Heritage Site and Place of Worship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Church of Nativity is a majestic place to visit both because of the historic significance and its spiritually importance to pilgrims from every corner of the world. I have been lucky enough to visit the Church of Nativity without being part of a group and I recommend it if you have the chance. I have been able to find moments between groups to be nearly alone in the grottos or sit and reflect in the courtyard outside St Katherine's. I am glad this has been placed on UNESCOs World Heritage Site list.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very moving place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We visited the church of nativity on a very warm day with a lot of people of all nationalities it was very moving place to visit but worth every minute

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The birth place of Jesus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

It was a fantastic moment to be where I have seen the Christmas Mass on Christmas Eve. A must for every Christian to have been if you are in Bethlehem!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of the Nativity also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Church of the Nativity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of the Nativity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.