We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, friendly owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ejder Restaurant

Ejder Restaurant
9 Cengiz Topel Cad., Selcuk 35920, Turkey
+90 232 892 32 96
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Selcuk
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Turkish, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I came here nearing the end of our trip to turkey and to be honest, i had so much of the usual kebap fare that i wanted a change. So I ordered fish. The owner said "hmmm, you like chicken? you should get the chicken, my chicken is the best." I went with the recommendation and it really was good. The portion was large. The side spinach was great. The chicken was juicy and tender. The reviews are well-deserved.

At the end of dinner, my wife wanted dondurma from a nearby shop and when we asked the owner for directions, he had his brother walk us to the store to make sure we got to where we wanted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    99
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
waukesha wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Flavorful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

True to the Lonley Planet advice this resturant has tasty authentic food. The owners are a couple that divide the cooking and really take pride in offering flavorful, fresh, plentiful food. We had the goulash and some wonderful lentil soup. They suggested the "mixed grill" which I'm sure would have been fabulous but we had quite of shish to date so we opted for something different and weren't disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service at heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to Ejder following a tip from a local friend; the place was cleas complete with a small open kitchen, the food was really good but it was the service an the human touch that set this place aside. Hakan and Mehmet (and the whole family) were just amazing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food for omnivores and vegetarians alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my favorite restaurant that I ate at during my entire trip to Turkey, which is saying a lot. I was travelling with my vegan fiance and was a little weary that we would both find a restaurant that satisfied us both. Needless to say, Edjer was great and we came back three times. Whether it was a lamb kabob cooked over a fire for me, or stuffed eggplant for her, everything was great. I would also recommend the lentil soup.

The Edjer family was very friendly as well, which made the experience even better. If you are staying in Selcuk, this is the place to go. You can tell that a lot of tourists have stopped here through the years, and in this case, that's a good thing. Edjer Restaurant was featured in the lonely planet travel guide and their guestbook even has a signature from Steve Irwin.

Also, a pro-tip for tourists traveling by the train. If you're looking to stop off for a meal somewhere or coming in from a long day of travel, the restaurant is located within a block from the train station. When you get off the train, you will see the Roman Aqueducts. Edjer restaurant is just to the left of the Aqueducts when you are leaving the train station.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful gastronomic and human experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friends went for dinner at Ejder Restaurant expecting delicious Turkish food and we did not only get that, but also had a very interesting cultural exchange with the owners of the place who were friendly and helpful as can be. Real Turkish food made made by real Turkish people.

Muchas gracias,

Alonso Lavín from Mexico

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ejder Restaurant also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ejder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ejder Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.