We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ejder Restaurant

Ejder Restaurant
9 Cengiz Topel Cad., Selcuk 35920, Turkey
+90 232 892 32 96
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Turkish, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Napa, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice location, good, standard fare. Hoemmade lentil soup was a standout. V good service. Our best meal in Izmir

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    109
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Traditional Food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Here it is, one of the place you should visit during your holiday's period in Selcuk. Say stop to all this archeological / hystorical stuff and fill your stomach with some good food! Father and son are going to serve you the dishes that they know perfectly how to do. Like the tavuk shish (chicken on a spit) that you have definitely to try, stuffed grape leafs, fried rolled cheese (don't remember the name, but the seem like cigars). Finally, fill a page with your opions on the ninth of the books full of customers comments they keep in the restaurant. Run through the pages, you will surely find some funny stuff, probably also our page!! Have a good meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, incredible service. We didn't eat anywhere else in Selcuk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our guidebook recommended Ejder, and we sought it out based on the write up alone. The appetizers and mains we ordered were excellent quality and absolutely delicious. We arrived late for dinner and unfortunately couldn't get the Goulash, but were talked into returning for lunch the following day to try it (it didn't take much convincing, and it was well worth it!).

The view of the old aqueduct - now a nesting site for storks - is quite lovely as well, and the ubiquitous cats aren't too much of a bother.

They used a hot pepper that I was unfamiliar with and when I asked about it, they brought me two to take with me, so that I could hopefully plant my own when I got home!

We also were looking to buy some souvenirs and the host took us a few blocks over to his friend Julia's shop - great value and excellent experience as well! - which was really over and above the call of duty.

A must when in Selcuk.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Selcuk food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recommended by the local accomodation rental agent "Alison' our Selcuk experience got off to an amazing start at Ejder's Resturant. The food was some of the best we had eaten in our extensive travels. Fresh, perfectly cooked local cusine. You could taste the love and respect for the produce in every mouthful.
The value for money combined like a fine dressing with friendly service and great food had us coming back nearly every day.
Each day a recommended speciality done to perfection. The handsome family (yes you know Im talking about you!) went out of their way to provide for our needs with early morning breakfast, freshly sourced before the villiage awoke, as well as taking us to some local and not so local outlets and sites. Ejders hospitality have giving meaning to 'breaking of bread' and welcoming travellers to the extent we felt a strong sense of community and belonging during our stay in Selcuk. I can see Selcuk is already growing and developing and hope the simple values and traditions continue to delight its visitors. I thoroughly recommend the food and dont stop there, make your self know. I look forward to reaquainting soon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly restaurant for travellers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food
Food was great--owner Mehmet offered to cook me his best vegetarian meal and my wife his best fish.

Service
The service during the meal was good, but at the end Mehmet asked us to sign his visitor book which was full of anecdotes and trinkets from travellers who had visited. It was a very nice touch, and he was really friendly.

Price
Like most places in Selcuk and Turkey in general, it offered great value--our meal was less than 50 Lira including drinks (about £17).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ejder Restaurant also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ejder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ejder Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.