We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canberra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Canberra Hotel to your Saves list
Canberra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Canberra Hotel for one night as a base for visiting Ephesus. The room was bright and clean with two small balconies, the bathroom was small and basic, but clean, and service was pleasant. We were loaned maps of the town, but asked to return these. Internet access was good in the lobby and computers were provided for guest use, but I could not access Internet From my room on the fourth floor. The restaurant was very good- mezes were tasty and a wide selection was offered. The view was splendid. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to a budget minded traveller who is looking for a safe, clean base from which to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
52
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a tour for two nights. Unfortunately the in-room wifi wasn't working and was only fixed at the time of our check-out. The rooms are clean but a bit dated. I had a room on the fourth floor with balcony. The roof terrace is a great place to watch the sunset. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you're visiting Selcuk to see Ephasus then Canberra Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We had a corner room that was cozy and made us feel very at home.
The windows had three curtains- enough to block out the intense sun.
The mosque across the street was loud but everywhere in Turkey has the same problem- earplugs are a must!
The wifi signal was strong with a fast connection.
The hotel is just behind the hospital and very convenient for busses to and from.
You can walk to and from Ephasus if you're so inclined. You can also easily walk to the information office, museum, and St. John's.
The manager is FANTASTIC. He gives honest information and will steer you in the right direction. He even drove us to the bus station with our luggage.
One of the best things about the hotel has to be the restaurant. Seriously good chef prepares some amazing food. It's all on display for you to choose from. Most sides were 7TL and mains about 12-15TL- this is the same price as restaurants in town, if not cheaper. The view is spectacular as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you want to experience Selcuk and Efes, come and enjoy the peaceful nights in Canberra!

1) Both managers Savas and Mehmet are dedicated Muslim, who care for the needs and feelings of guests, and deliver the love of their God. I felt like part of the family member.
2) the chef Aayhan is a little crazy :), but definitely an honest, thoughtful and romantic man. You will try the best Turkish dinner when sitting on the terrace of the hotel.
3) The hotel is so clean, rooms are big and sunny. Best location to look at the sunset and the full view of the town, especially the Mosque and St. John's Church. It's a best location to get away from the crowded from Kus adasi and Aydin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great hotel at bargain price!

The staff is very friendly. They helped us with our tour to Ephesus (we arrived at 7pm and they booked our tour for us the following morning).

We had room 401. Great balcony with views if the town and the castle. Beautiful at night.

The roof top bar/restaurant also serves great breakfast and dinners. The view is beautiful.

The hotel is right next to a Mosque so you will probably be woken up in the morning. But I love it. It's part of the Turkey experience. Every night we sat on our balcony, eating baklava, looking at the amazing view listening to the prays. Beautiful!

The hotel is less than a 5min walk to the main bus station and 5-8min walk to the town centre. We always felt safe around our hotel. Lovely little cafe with many ducks just across the road too.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is well decorated, very friendly and accommodating staff, and in a good location. They let is check in very early for no extra charge, which we appreciated. The reasons I gave it three stars were that the owners have a dog. This dog was tied up across the street from the hotel and barked loudly all night long. I barely slept. Also, one of the legs on our bed was uneven, so the mattress was slanted. The service was great, but bring earplugs if you want a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is nothing special. The rooms are dated but clean. The walls are paper thin,I could hear the 2 French kids playing next door load and clear. The towels were like sand paper. Despite that I recommend this hotel for the budget traveller. It is close to town, the bus station and Ephesus. The staff was very helpful. The price just can't be beat.

Room Tip: Don't expect much this hotel is for the budget traveller!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canberra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are elegantly designed, each floor in a different color. Direct telephone, shower and WC, balcony, television, air conditioning, hair dryer. Rooms with view on Isa Bey Mosque. The Castle Restaurant seats 60 persons indoors and the Terrace Restaurant seats 100 persons capacity. We offer delicious Turkish cuisine. We also have two bars, in the lobby and on the terrace. Staff will assist you in all your needs, answer all your questions and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canberra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.