We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Nazar to your Saves list
Hotel Nazar
Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Faber, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Well Done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed only one night in Hotel Nazar but wish we could have stayed longer. It was by far the most personable place we have been to. The owners were very kind and helpful, spoke English, Turkish, and French, and were more than accommodating. Their rooms were clean and welcoming. The building was decorated nicely and made us feel at home and safe. I can not say enough good things about this place and the wonderful people who own it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    140
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
113
248
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at Nazar for a night. Since it was winter, we didn't get to swim or enjoy sunshine in the garden, which I reckon would be nice to sit in when it's warmer. Clean room aside, I was most impressed with the friendliness of Nazar's staff and the excellent service offered. The breakfast was simple but very tasty and we were given very useful advice on traveling in the area. The innkeeper even offered to drive us to Ephesus free of charge! It's fantastic experience all in all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for one night. The accomodations were basic, but clean. The service was excellent. The transfer service from Izmir Airport went smoothly. This place is a good choice for someone more interested in value than luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My son and I stayed two nights at Hotel Nazar in Oct 2012. The hotel is clean and well situated. Room and bath were comfortable and adequately furnished. The public areas, particularly the patio and pool area, were absolutely lovely. We actually spent some time just sitting by the pool reading - something we seldom do when traveling. The best feature was the rooftop terrace which overlooks the fortress. We sat up there in the evenings and in the early morning -- it was wonderful! They served a delicious breakfast up there, and we also ate the 3 course traditional evening meal (extra charge) there one evening. It meal was well worth the extra cost, and a very pleasant way to end our day. The hotel is easy to get to and in a safe location. The town center is an easy 10 min walk, as was the bus station. We were surprised by the little town -- it was a lovely place to wander and seemed less touristy than many of the other towns we visited. We flew Atlas Jet from Istanbul to Izmir and they provided a free shuttle service to Selcuk -- it was very inexpensive and worked smoothly. We arrived in Selcuk around 6:30 pm, and It was about a 15 min walk from where they dropped us off to the hotel - an easy walk, all flat. We enjoyed Ephesus, St John's baptistry and just walking around the little town. We felt Selcuk definitely deserved 2 nights of our two week trip. And the price was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel Nazar is a real deal, offering clean rooms, comfortable bed, pleasant decor and the warm hospitality of long time operators (father & son). With a complete breakfast included, it's a bargain rate of very good value. Enjoyed good dining recommendation within short walking distance in area with shops. We met the most friendly & helpful people in Selcuk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughters and I found this family run hotel in Lonely Planet as we were in the taxi from Izmir to Selcuk. We were able to get a triple room and everything was lovely and clean. Wonderful hospitality from the family. House is very organized - pool was a great surprise. Dinner was terrific with a beautiful view on the roof top patio.
We accepted the offer of a ride to visit Ephesus. Visiting this site mid-afternoon was the best idea as it was very hot. The only draw back was having to visit the drivers rug shop afterwards. It was a lovely thought but we were tired and just wanted to return to the hotel. If you have the time and are interested in checking out rugs, then this is a great idea.

Room Tip: Since this hotel is a block off the main road, any room would be a good choice. Its not a loud noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Excellent family run hotel which was perfect for me, my wife and two daughters, (ages 9 & 7). We decided to stay at the Hotel Nazar in order to visit the Ephesus. Osman the owner of the hotel picked us up at the airport and offered the utmost in hospitality. Nazar felt more like an Agriturismo in Italy than a hotel. We decided to have dinner each night at the hotel and were delighted by the multiple course homemade Turkish meals. The food was excellent, plus it was on their rooftop veranda which had a great view of St. Johns castle and basilica... not to mention nests of migratory storks. There was free transportation to the ancient city of Ephesus, and upon return to the hotel we relaxed at the hotel's refreshing pool. Our daughters enjoyed this and Osman's mellow dog Alice that hung out by the pool.
I can not recommend this hotel more highly. Osman will be able to help and coordinate your onward travels for you as he did for us. Osman also connected me to his nephew who is an excellent barber. Indulge yourself and get a Turkish shave from him. It will be an experience you will not soon forget!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.