We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Nazar to your Saves list
Hotel Nazar
Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leavenworth, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Three of us met in Selcuk for four days. We stayed at Hotel Nazar and it was wonderful. We stayed in the family room- very spacious with a remodeled bathroom, large balcony, and comfortable beds. The room was cleaned and beds were made every day. Very safe- off the main street one block but close enough to walk everywhere. The owners were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. Breakfast was wonderful- on the balcony overlooking the city/ citadel and was made to order in their rooftop kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    140
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
113
247
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in November together with my family. Room was just the right size for the 5 of us. Room was clean, well maintained and had a good view of the citadel. The view was especially impressive at night when the citadel was lighted up. Swimming pool was closed though for the winter.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the train and bus. It is about 5 minutes walk to the entrance of St John Basilica.

Osman picked us up promptly from the train station after we arrived from Denizli. This was especially appreciated as we had a long and tiring day after visiting Pamukkale. He also gave us a lift to Ephesus and to the train station for our early morning departure.

Breakfast was good and served at the roof top terrace.

Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Enjoyed our stay ay hotel Nazar. Being mid November, there were only a few rooms being used. They dont use a booking agency you simply make a reservation through their website and they will email confirmation. We walked from the train station which took about 10 minutes. It's an easy 5 minute walk to the shops as Nazar is in a slightly more residential area. We had the standard room for 33 euro which is small but larger rooms are available. Bathroom was large. The breakfast which you have on the terrace with a great view of the citadel with delicious. The breakfast plate included cheese, olives, cucumber, tomato, jam, honey, butter, yoghurt, omelette, bread, and tea or coffee. No problem asking for more bread and more tea or coffee were offered. Lily a friend of the family who owns a carpet shop dropped us at Ephesus. On the morning of our departure, Osman dropped us at the otogar (bus station). Osman was a warm and generous host and we would recommend hotel Nazar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

only one night at the nazar....had a pickup from izmir airport... expensive but worth it for the convienience..... hotel is basic but clean and bed was comfortable.... the owner of the hotel was very helpful in giving information and even took us to ephesus as we were on a tight schedule...selcuk is a lovely little town which is well geared for tourists

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The brothers who run this place were simply fantastic, waiting up late for us the first night and making sure we had everything we needed throughout our stay. The place itself is a gem and we loved being able to go in the winter time and have full service (many, many places were closed). Breakfast on the terrace each morning was a treat. The place is quaint, charming and clean. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We prefer anything on the upper floors away from the street to keep noise to a minimum for a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent two nights here in August and were delighted to meet Osman and his family. He runs a very nice hotel which we found to be very clean and well organized. Our room was basic but clean and functional at very reasonable prices.

Service here was very good, with meals served on the rooftop with great views of the region. The food was delicious and varied and is definitely made fresh.

We also booked a tour of Ephesus and the museum through Osman which was well organized as well and very easy. The tour operator came right to the hotel.

This was a great hotel, and a great experience. Osman has been running this establishment for decades and staying with him is also a window into Turkish culture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Osman and his family are very friendly and provide excellent service. We received good advice, and Osman helped us book a tour of Priene, Miletus and Didyma with a good tour operator.

Rooms are small, and simple; the mattress is quite firm. But the price is right; you can't expect anything fancy for these prices.

Wireless internet worked well.

It is possible to get dinner on the rooftop terrace, with a nice view out over Selcuk. I'd recommend it; the food is as good here as elsewhere in Selcuk, and the atmosphere is nice. A great chance to mix with some fellow tourists.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.