We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bella to your Saves list
Hotel Bella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great host and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I chose the Hotel Bella because the owner wrote back right away and was quite helpful in answering inquiry for our one night stay while visiting Ephesus. Trip Advisor reviews had been a bit cautionary about pressure sales tactics. Our experience was reflective of the owner's response: he did invite us to view his extensive collection of tiles, jewelry, carpets, etc. but was not at all insistent.

What he did do, was to serve as an attentive host in taking us to Ephesus and picking us up afterward, right on time. He then drove us past the Cave of seven sleepers and Artemis temple site before returning to the Bella.

Our rooms, while small, were beautifully and tastefully decorated, and served our purposes well. Because the Bella is up hill from the heart of Selcuk (directly facing the St. John Basilica) it is quiet. The rooftop lounge was a pleasant place to spend some time between excursions. Food was fine, although not as fresh and tasty as we have found elsewhere in Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    221
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
108
364
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous - wonderfully decorated with ceramics and turkish fabrics and thoroughly charming. Wonderful location next to Basilica of St John and the main Selcuk avenue. The owners were very helpful and courteous - they offer a free shuttle to Ephesus twice a day which is very convenient. The beds are comfortable, great linen and everything is very clean. Nice rooftop restaurant and good breakfasts. The bathroom was a little small but for one night it wasn't a big deal. The hotel has an attached ceramic store with really high quality beautiful plates and tiles. I didn't buy, thinking I would find the same stuff in Istanbul but I didn't see anything close to the same quality and regret not buying when I had the chance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This little hotel is very sweet and extremely convenient if staying in Selçhuk to see historical sites. It is located across the street from St John's Basilica. The owner/manager of the hotel arranged chauffeured transportation to Ephesus and other local sites for sight seeing. He couldn't have been more accommodating! The hotel has a partially covered open terrace restaurant on the roof of the hotel. The food was great and the service exceptional!

The rooms are quite small but contain all of the necessities. Western bathrooms with terrific water pressure. There is air conditioning but I just chose to leave my window open and was very comfortable.

Don't plan on catching up on the news in your room as there isn't a TV. There is a large one at the back of the terrace dining room however with plenty of comfortable Turkish seating.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Talk about walking distance to St John's Basilica, its right next door! Hotel Bella is a lovely little gem conveniently located. The staff and owner are very hospitable and willing to assist in transfers to various sites. Seriously impressed by their willingness to assist.

When so many hotels in Turkey have started (inflated) pricing in Euro, I appreciate that Hotel Bella still uses their own country currency.

Nazmi, one of the owners, is friendly and kind. He agreed to show us carpets, but wasn't pushy at all. He was very informative and the carpets were beautiful.

The hotel is delightful in decor; so Turkish! Our room was not large, but clean and comfortable.

My sister's room was next to ours and she mentioned that her bathroom floor would get wet when we ran our shower. I also noticed a septic smell in her room and suggested she run the air conditioning. Not all plumbers use p-traps in Turkey. I'm not sure if she mentioned these issues to the staff.

The restaurant upstairs is good. The view of St John's is lovely, and there were stork nests with babies at eye level on light poles, etc. I loved the option of sitting under covering or not.

We paid for the car transfer from Izmir airport and it was great! When we left we decided to use the train and one of the staff dropped us with our luggage; its very close to the hotel but the ride was nice. The train is reliable and cheap, however ours stopped for about 15 minutes for an unknown reason. We allowed extra time so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A wonderful location within short walking distance to St. John's Basilica and the "Castle", great rooftop terrace with easy view of four stork nests (with babies!). Hotel fee includes adequate breakfast and hotel serves wonderful regional dinner for extra cost. Owners Urdal (?) and Nazmi are warm and welcoming and very accommodating with tours and information concerning area sites. Very close to Ephesus and The House of Mary. We easily rented a car to get to Aphrodisias, Priene, Miletus and Didyma. Easy driving - great signage, and great help from the owners. There is a carpet and ceramics business attached to the hotel but no pushiness regarding sales - it's there if you're interested. Very nice staff. We'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: With a view of the Basilica and Castle is nice - above the ground floor is quieter during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hotel Bella is nice and cool place to stay. It is very tastefully decorated too. Rooms are small with oddly facing windows but they are welcoming and cosy. The best thing we found out was their compliment ride to Ephesus. The location is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

When we arrived we were shown to our room and that was it. There were no explanations of when breakfast would be or small talk about how our trip was considering we arrived pretty late at night looking exhausted at almost 11pm. There were no offers to help book tours or anything else we need.
The room itself is elegantly decorated with traditional Turkish furnitures, lamps, and rugs. We stayed for 2 nights and were able to rest comfortably in the beds. Even the twin size beds did not feel cramped. The room is aired out in the day and the AC is on upon our return to keep the room cool.
Bathroom is clean, shower has nice strong water pressure. And while there are no towel hooks in the bathroom there are hooks in the room itself. Towels are folded into animals (elephant one night and swans another) and laid on beds. The bathroom is on the small side but certainly functional. They do not provide conditioners for those of us who need it and there is no hairdryer either.
Breakfast is not buffet style like other hotels I've been to in Turkey. They already have the plates of breakfast prepared with slices of fruit (quince, orange, kiwi, strawberry,) carrots, cucumbers, cheese, bread, olives, jam. They made us omelets in addition. It is really just a plain omelet with nothing in it. Still delicious. I'm not fond of the already prepared breakfast plate but suffice to say it is enough for breakfast and healthy. They also offer tea/coffee and will serve to you. Don't miss the storks in the nests if you are there in the Spring/Summer seasons. You can see them well from the terrace perched high on a pole.
The location of the hotel is excellent. It's right across from St. John's Basilica so not only do you have a nice view of it right outside the window, it is easily accessible. I recommend having a look inside, preferably with a tour guide. We didn't have a guide with us so we just took pictures and read up on it afterwards. Not quite the same since we must have missed details.
Restaurants and ATM machines are all within walking distance. This reminds me, when we asked reception for recommendation on Turkish restaurants the answer they gave unenthusiastically was, "They're all Turkish food. They're all the same." I didn't know how to respond to that so I asked about the restaurant onsite. For that they described a pre-set menu for a reasonable price. We ended up finding a restaurant on our own because we honestly didn't feel welcome there and were reluctant to ask more questions.
To be fair, a couple of the staff members were more friendly than others. Even so, we had to say hello first before anyone acknowledged us. When we were checking out and being picked up by our bus, nobody came to say good bye or even thank us for staying.
I had booked this hotel based on the number of positive Tripadvisor reviews. Needless to say we are somewhat disappointed. We were not difficult guests at all. We asked for nothing and had planned everything on our own. We kept the room clean and were quiet during our stay. I would still recommend the hotel for its location, cleanliness, elegant decor, and ease on budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.