We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient City of Ephesus

Ancient City of Ephesus
Adnan Menderes Bul, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 attractions in Selcuk
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I lost and found myself in Efes!! What a history and what an amazing view!!
If you are in Kuşadası, Çeşme, İzmir or Selçuk you must definitely visit Efes Antique City.. You can rent a car and join to one of the guided tours..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,408
    423
    61
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stepping back into time... walk there and you won't miss anything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I walked from town to the seven sleepers first before entering Ephesus form the back gate. I was happy I walked, and glad that I entered from that spot. Left the best for last.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“if only there weren't so many tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Taking goofy photos, it would be great. The site, particularly the terrace houses (extra fee but worth it) is well worth taking your time to see. We spent 4 hours there and could have taken more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great site to wander around, the ruins are really well preserved and the variety of the ruins from a library to the ampitheaters are amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

More than I had envisioned it to be. Grand & wonderful ancient city that even in the remaining ruins one can imagine what it must have been. Go early before heat of day & tour buses arrive! Had most of Ephesus to ourselves & 100 others for first 2 hours & it was wonderful! Lots of dusty walking: bring bottled water!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City of Ephesus also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ancient City of Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient City of Ephesus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ancient City of Ephesus to your Saves list