We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ephesus is awesome!! Efendi Travel is the best travel agency of Turkey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient City of Ephesus

Ancient City of Ephesus
Adnan Menderes Bul, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$340*
and up
Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip...
Ranked #1 of 42 Attractions in Selcuk
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ephesus is awesome!! Efendi Travel is the best travel agency of Turkey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we joined local tour named Efendi Travel in Turkey and did have a wonderful travel experience there. The travel planner named Yusuf is just so professional. For example, when i request to change the hotel where i will live for two nights, Yusuf immediately asked me to pack all our stuff and get on the tour car and provides two hotels to let me choose after the day tour on that day. He is 24 hr on call whenver i found him i can reach him so i am very satisfied about his planning and out of the whole trip, Ephesus is the best place i ve ever been to.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,150
    556
    83
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Trials and tribulations of Roman times...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This review is coming to you a bit belated i'm afraid. June 2013! But if you can gain anything by reading this, then we have succeeded by being loyal to fellow travellers!
This was a joint 2 day tour going to Ephesus and Pamukkale, but starting and finishing from Olu Deniz! Yes a big mission indeed but the rewards of what we viewed were excellent, and makes our impression of Turkey's history very imposing.
Travelling from Olu Deniz to Mugla then to Selcuk, and at last Ephesus. Very hot once inside the grounds, in between 37 and 40 degrees! This city explains the depths of what Roman life was all about many years ago, it even puts emphasis on the local brothel and communal toilets!
It was a shame to see the Temple of Artemis reduced to a small build due to wear and tear over the years. But the Library of Celsus is the money shot, and the image that represents Ephesus from all over the world. You can stay and visit the ruins for a good 2-3 hours, this is long enough to understand what all the structures stand for in historic times. Just remember to put plenty of sun cream on and possibly wear a hat, because the sun takes no prisoners! This is a great ruins site, and we'd give a recommend this to anyone visiting Turkey on the west coast.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Where Time Stood Still ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Standing in amazement, as if Ive been transported to another era where its inhabitants just up and left their city. Nothing else in its immediate vicinity is touched, you see the sheperds guarding their sheeps on the hills. The eerie silence that surrounds you as you take in this great city is overwhelming. I stood in awe of its theater second only in size to the colosseum, if only these seats could talk of the events that have unfolded here. The pillars of the library majestically withered the ages, a written stone carving reminding administrators of Ephesus of the detailed agriculture and tax levies of its people leaves you in awe of the functionality and upkeeping of what is part of a Great Empire.

A must visit when in Turkey

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very evocative ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This site is well worth the time and effort to visit. It is possible to visit on an organised tour, or just turn up and see the ruins under your own steam. Be aware that on an organised tour, there will not be time to just sit and take things in and if it's hot, you won't get the chance to take a break in the shade for a while. Visiting independently, you can either hire a guide, or just buy a guide book and wander around on your own. Hiring a guide is pricey, but if there is a large group of you, it's probably cost effective.

Wandering the site, some areas are amazingly well presevered/presented and intact, making it very evocative of an ancient civilsation. Walking down the main street, it is easy to imagine daily Roman life going on; the Library is stunning and the ampitheatre is awesome - huge!

There are outlets for souvenirs and refreshments at the entrance and exit to the site, which are a bit pricey. It is worth making sure you have a drink with you as you go round the site though, as it can be thirsty work in the sunshine.

Definitely a site to visit if you have the chance.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magnificient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Pay the extra 15TL and visit the terraced houses - you will not be disappointed & it'll really broaden your comprehension of Ephesus (the way the elite and common people lived)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City of Ephesus also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ancient City of Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient City of Ephesus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.