We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yedi Bilgeler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yedi Bilgeler to your Saves list
Yedi Bilgeler
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Doltenalti Mevkii, Gokcealan Koyu, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Selcuk
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oasis in the countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Yedi Bilgeler was a highlight of our two week trip through Turkey. The location is breathtaking, with views of the vineyard and countryside behind it.

The hotel itself is lovely...it has a very welcoming feel with its stone walls, verandas and simple, fresh decor. But the real highlight is the staff. Aybeck is a truly wonderful host. He personally welcomed us as we arrived, got us settled into our rooms, gave us a tour of the winery and spent a significant amount of time chatting with us about Turkish history, his wines and the area we were touring (he's a tour guide by training). Hussein was also charming and very helpful during our stay.

The food was upscale Turkish and the wine is award winningly delicious....definitely have a dinner on the veranda!

To get there, we flew into the airport at Izmir, rented a car (we recommend Zenith car rental) and drove to the vineyard. It was a bit difficult to find, so be sure to ask for directions in advance (off 550 when you enter Camlick, it is the right toward Kusadasi near two gas stations. Veer to left after railroad tracks and it's on the left). There is a train nearby, so you could also take that, however it seemed relatively difficult to get around the region without a car.

The visit was great for two friends traveling together, but would also be wonderful for a romantic getaway for a couple. It was truly a gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When we visited Turkey in April of 2013 we hardly expected to find ourselves in the Napa Valley. But then, Turkey is a land of a thousand experiences-many of them surprises. One of them was Yedi-Bilgeler.
The Yedi Bilgeler Hotel, Restaurant and Winery http://www.booking.com/hotel/tr/yedi-bilgeler-vineyards-boutique.en.html is located only a few minutes from Kusadasi and close to one of the top tourist draws in Turkey-Ephesus. We didn’t stay at the hotel, although we visited the rooms which seemed spacious and elegant. We did sample the restaurant and the wine. Both were excellent. Just before we got there the roé wine from the vineyard achieved a second place finish among the best wines of its type in Turkey, so our favorable opinion of what we tasted was not simply our own opinion. What is really surprising and amazing about Yedi Bilgeler however is not just the quality of the experience. It is that in a country where the very existence of a winery seems a bit improbable, here is a gorgeous modern hotel/rastaurant in the middle of vineyards, with a completely modern wine making facility. Napa eat your heart out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nestled in the peaceful countryside, the hotel is an attractive and beautifully situated oasis. overall our stay was very nice....with a little more care and attention, 'nice' could have been 'absolutely lovely'. you can not fault the landscape, style and decoration of the hotel, which is reminiscent of Tuscany. But a few things left us baffled. There was no main reception area - so when we arrived, we had to look for a member of staff to help us. The rooms were attractive although we found the beautifully appointed bathroom very small, and the views stunning. However, there were no phones in the room, so once again, we had to go searching for a member of staff if we wanted anything....not ideal in the middle of the night ! there were no drink making facilities, and after travelling for hours on end, this would have been a welcome addition. I notice others commented on complimentary wine, this wasn't so with our party (4 double bedrooms). There was however three small bottles of water and three cans of soda in the fridge - which were complimentary although we were not told this at the time.
Finding a shortage of restaurants open, we decided to stay and have a meal in the restaurant. The service was hit and miss. One of our party did not get their main meal at all - rather strange as there was only one table of two other people eating that night, so hardly busy. Eventually, after several prompts, a meal arrived, but too late. As a way of sorry a free dessert was given to each member of the party....but of course the lady who's main meal arrived after we had all finished didn't really want a dessert at that stage !! Little in the way of apology and the staff simply didn't know how to handle the situation properly - much standing around and shrugging of shoulders. That said, it wouldn't put us off going again - the landscape and area was lovely. Just a little more care and attention would be super.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our tour group stopped here for lunch after visiting Ephesus. We had a quite delicious meal, bought some good wine, and were shown the rooms. The rooms looked lovely (both the suite and the single) and the location for lunch was as pretty as Tuscany. I don't know the price for lunch but the prices we were told for the rooms seemed reasonable, given how lovely the place was.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a long day at Ephesus, we drove to Yedi Bilgeler to check in for the night. Too tired to drive elsewhere for dinner, we opted to simply park our car and stay there for supper. We were treated like royalty! They gave us a tour of their winery, and allowed us to taste their wines in order to select our favorite. Dinner was one of the best meals of our entire trip. The suite was a huge apartment with 2 balconies overlooking the olive groves and vineyards. Breakfast was a treat as they explained the typical foods of the region. They also gave us travel tips about visiting additional ruins that we did not even know existed. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On a tour our group stopped for lunch at the Seven Sages. The hotel (now consisting of approximately 5 rooms, a restaurant and a winery) is brand new. It has the qualities of California's Auberge du Soleil. The owners -- several Turkish physicians and a businessman -- plan to expand to more than 20 rooms and add a swimming pool. Set in vineyards outside of Izmir, the setting is quiet and expanisve. Sparkling brand new, the entire complex is spotless. The food in the restaurant was plentiful and tasty and the service was attentive. If you want to relax off the beaten path of beachfront property, this may be the place for you on your Turkey trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The architecture is inspired by the Spanish style of Andalusia. The winery is owned and managed by medical doctors. My group from Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) stopped there for lunch on our way to Kusadasi and a visit to Ephesus. The wines are better than the average wine served in Turkey where the tax on alcohol is high. Stopping there was a nice change of pace from visiting historic sites.

Room Tip: All three rooms I saw were very attractive with a view over the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yedi Bilgeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yedi Bilgeler

Address: Doltenalti Mevkii, Gokcealan Koyu, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yedi Bilgeler 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yedi Bilgeler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yedi Bilgeler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.