We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Promised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Urkmez Hotel to your Saves list
Urkmez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not As Promised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We book this hotel mainly based on the good reviews but we were very dissappointed with our room. The standard room we stayed was not as what shown on their website. The room comes with 3 single bed with very old (repainted) furnitures and was without balcony as most rooms have. The worst is the bathroom, there are water stains all over the ceilling and wall. The toilet bowl and basin looks like those from the 70's with dirty flooring.the only posive sign is the service and hospitality of the owners and the 2 star rating is for this purpose.
I always select my accommadations carefully based on reviews from tripadvisor and this hotel turned out to be the worst during my 2 weeks trip in turkeys despite all the good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Manager at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear Guests,,

Mr BT Lim from Malaysia, had a reservation in our Hotel for 12th of October and I reserved a standart double bed room as promised. He asked for a special discount as well. Just a few days before arriving he requested to change the to 13th (wrote; "whatever available"). Due to very busy week I just had this budget triple room(ensuite,A/C) available and I guess he was not happy with the triple room (beds pushed together) Id like to inform that we also worked on bathroom and did the necessary changing.
I and my team are very sensitive about the reviews and we always try to give the best for our Guests.
Kind Regards
Cüneyt Ozkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    170
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
59
219
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The rooms are comfortable, clean, and charming. The staff was gracious and very helpful when it came to helping us plan our short visit to Ephesus. It is located right in the heart of the (little) city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Urkmez boasts that you come as a guest and leave as a friend. Actually, that's an understatement, you come as a guest and leave as a member of the family. This is the friendliest place I stayed in Turkey (and that in itself is saying a great deal) and Jimmy and Juju (the brothers who run it) spare no effort in trying to make you feel as welcome as possible. The room was clean and comfortable but the best part of the pension is the roof terrace which is cool (a big plus in Selcuk which is brutally hot) where the eclectic array of people who stay here often congregate and the brothers usually have something going on in the evening (if it's a barbeque don't miss it!). They also offer free rides to the top of the ruins in Ephesus and book tours but don't push them (the way many places in Turkey do). Location-wise it's in the heart of town and not by the bus station, which is itself a plus. I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Despite being a small, Selcuk is a great town to visit in Turkey, especially as a home base for visiting surrounding museums, ruins, etc. Hotel Urkmez has to be the most fun, delightful place to stay in Selcuk. Rooms are spacious with great views, some with balconies. The breakfasts are delicious and served on the roof top terrace, complete with great views. Best of all are brothers and owners Jimmy and JuJu. They are available and acessable to answer questions, make suggestions about sightseeing, and also plan fun events at the hotel like BBQ night, karaoke, etc. Have them direct you to the shop that sell the yogurt they make in town - amazing!! MUST DO: visit the hamam (turkish bath) in town. For 35TL you will have the most amazing experience ever. It was wonderful, and very respectful. Felt very comfortable going there as a female. Note: at the hotel, there are many flights of stairs, and no elevator. It's best to take this into account if you have physical challenges. Otherwise, a fabulous and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Urkmez for two nights, and I booked this hotel after reading all of the wonderful reviews on this site. I had never stayed at such a cheap hotel before (it's 32 euros a night) and was wondering what we were in for! Urkmez is a no frills budget place, but with the service and hospitality of a much more expensive hotel. Juju, one of the owners, is extremely friendly and went out of his way to make sure that we were happy and comfortable.

Our room was on the first floor (and I think that's a plus because there is no elevator and there are a lot of steep stairs to climb) and was perfectly nice. In fact, we noticed that almost all of the furniture was purchased from Ikea. :) We had a great little balcony with two chairs that overlooked the small town. Our bed was quite comfortable, even more so than at other hotels where we stayed. We did not have any problems with the shower, as some others did. The water was hot and the pressure was fine. The bathroom is very small, but I think that is the case with many Turkish hotels.

Breakfast on the terrace was excellent, with a wonderful view of Selcuk and a variety of yummy options. There is also a laptop on the terrace with wireless access and free wireless internet throughout the hotel.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It's about a 5 minute walk from the train station and is very close to many wonderful restaurants.

Our only snafu was that we checked out very early in the morning (around 7 am), and a young boy who did not speak much English helped us out because Juju was not available. It took us a bit of time to check out because he was not aware of the procedures and he had to be on the phone with Juju for several minutes to figure it out. However, that is a minor complaint. Our overall stay was wonderful, and I would highly recommend Urkmez to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Good location, nice clean rooms and run by a very friendly family, also do same day laundry and nice extras like film nights on the roof terrace. Only downside was a sometimes cold and very weak shower.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The hotel itself is very modest, comfortable, no-frills budget accommodation, but the hosts Jimmy and Juju make the stay a wonderful and memorable one. It is located close to a lot of the Selcuk attractions, bus stop & train station. There is wonderful breakfast every morning on the roof top. You can get wine/beer/tea on the rooftop any time of the day. Jimmy & Juju were definitely the most wonderful hosts we have met, great friendly people, they go out of the way to help you and make the stay comfortable. Every night there would be entertainment up on the roof - movie nights, karaoke etc. We stayed there for the 2 nights we were in Selcuk. As an added bonus the hotel is walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Selcuk - Ejder's & Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House. Ephesus and the other sights in Selcuk were definitely wonderful but its the people and the food that we will always remember it by.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Address: Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly renovated in 2012! We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train stations, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms has ensuite and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, egg, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on the terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urkmez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.