We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but not much else!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Save Saved
You added Urkmez Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Selcuk
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Location, but not much else!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife, my daughter and I stayed in the Urkmez hotel at Selcuk on November 30th and December 1st last year, i.e., in 2012. We got down from the train from Izmir at aound 5 in the evening, dead beat after a day of hectic travelling and a delayed flight and overjoyed to find that the Urkmez where we were booked to stay was just a little over a hundred metres from the railway station. The room we were given was on the second floor overlooking the Selcuk museum and everything that Selcuk had to offer, by way of the town square, restaurants, cafes and curio/ gift shops were within five minutes on foot. Even the remains of the acquaducts and the cathedral were practicall next door. But the room was way too small for three people, there was no furniture except a rather rickety side-table and the bath was a bit of a joke - barely big for you to squeeze in, with the walls practically touching your skin if you tried to move. The small restaurant on the terrace has a decent view of the fort/palace and the breakfast is not bad, either, but you need to climb something like forty steep steps to reach it, and if your knees are not young, you would feel like giving breakfast a go-bye. The staff are courteous and even friendly, but we would much rather have an indifferent staff manning a hotel which can offer you a room and your breakfast on a lower floor and where the room and the bath are not pigeon- holes. Although I hate to say this for a friendly place, I would not stay in the Urkmez in Selcuk if I were to visit Ephesus again.

Room Tip: Please make it a point to ask the size of the room and the bath, unless you are fond of rock-climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    147
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
51
199
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Rooms a bit small , but super location , 2 minute walk from train, center of town. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great value. They could use a few more amenities like a chair to put your suitcase on. Hot water takes forever , but it does happen eventually. Great hamam around the corner only 17 US.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Excellent location, we arrived by train and it's not more than 10 minutes easy walk in a quiet town. Hotel is up a flight of stairs and there is no lift, this may present a problem if you have a heavy suitcase or a lot of luggage. The staff will help though without complaint.
Room was nice a clean, the shower was a bit temperamental and tended to be difficult to get to the right temperature. The furniture/decoration in the room was a bit mis-matched, they seemed to have raided Ikea for most pieces but it was in good condition overall.
Breakfast was on the terrace, it was too cold when we were there to enjoy but nevertheless was very pleasant. If I would stay in Selcuk again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed two nights at this delightful hotel. Jimmy and staff went out of their way to help us with bus timetables and an extra side table and light for our room. The rooftop area has a great view and good breakfast, can also watch a film up there if you want (they have a few DVDs). Their lounge is welcoming with books on the local area and even magazines in English. We asked for a room with a balcony which was nice to sit on in the sunshine. Have to run the shower for quite sometime for hot water - pretty basic bathroom. Beds comfortable, new pillows. Location great and their restaurant next door was delightful with music on the night we were there (Fridays and Saturdays). Location was perfect, near the bus station, very central and quiet.

Room Tip: No elevator so first floor with balcony worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a lovely place to end up after a day of touring the ruins. The staff was so very friendly and helpful . Jimmy and his brother were god sends to us after my husband got sick while we were there. They brought him special teas and foods to help him get over his stomach ailments. The room was clean with a great view of ancient ruins right outside our window. Breakfast was amazing served on the rooftop of the hotel. I would highly recommend this place and will return again. Thank you for the wonderful time. Barbara and Bob

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jimmy and his staff could not have been more obliging and helpful.Granted, rooms are not large and elaborately furnished but are comfortable and bathrooms are really small and we did have a bit of a jiggle to get the shower temperature right, but all were in keeping with price paid. This establishment is very central and breakfast is really tasty and sufficient to keep you going for the day. They have a sister restaurant, Cabare, where the Turkish homemade meals are a MUST.
This hotel is not for those who are physically impaired, the elderly or those with young children as the marble staircase is a steep spiral.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virignia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our first night at Urkmez was unfortunately bad; first off the shower was either very hot or cold; warm water was hard to maintain so we had to resort to military style shower. The shower had no curtain or shower door so the entire bathroom was wet after every shower. Then we found out there was only one blanket in our twin room, it was around 2am and there was nobody at the front desk even after we rang the bell, one of us had to wear her winter jacket to bed. We found out later that the hotel owners were aware of the shower issue and already have plan to address them.
The breakfast on the terrace was nice and sufficient.
Our biggest gripes were actually with the bus ticket to Fethiye that the hotel helped arranged through travel agency, we were charged 30 TL per person for the slowest bus instead of an express bus from Pemukkale to Fethiye, the tortorous journey took 4.5 hours with the bus picking up and dropping off passengers into villages via dirt roads, the bus even delivered five big bags of meat along the way. When I asked for more details regarding the bus, the hotel assured us not to worry as they do this everyday. :(
I would also advise against booking tours through the hotel if shopping stops are not your cup of tea, our Ephesus tour guide was rushing through the afternoon itinerary to make time for a leather shop and a carpet shop visits. There are tours available online with the same price without shopping stops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Manager at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for your experience. Not much buses to Fethiye available in the off season.
We have total 2 travel agency in Selcuk. They arrange one by one daily tour to Pamukkale.
I arranged Pamukkale Tour and Bus ticket from same agency so they should drop you to Denizli Bus Station after the tour. I didnt hear any bad experience before so I will take care for our future Guests. We are starting to make our winter renovation next week.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Address: Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly renovated in 2012! We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train stations, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms has ensuite and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, egg, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on the terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urkmez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.