We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to kickstart our holiday in Turkey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Save Saved
You added Urkmez Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Selcuk
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good way to kickstart our holiday in Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jimmy and his staff could not have been more obliging and helpful.Granted, rooms are not large and elaborately furnished but are comfortable and bathrooms are really small and we did have a bit of a jiggle to get the shower temperature right, but all were in keeping with price paid. This establishment is very central and breakfast is really tasty and sufficient to keep you going for the day. They have a sister restaurant, Cabare, where the Turkish homemade meals are a MUST.
This hotel is not for those who are physically impaired, the elderly or those with young children as the marble staircase is a steep spiral.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    147
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
51
199
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virignia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our first night at Urkmez was unfortunately bad; first off the shower was either very hot or cold; warm water was hard to maintain so we had to resort to military style shower. The shower had no curtain or shower door so the entire bathroom was wet after every shower. Then we found out there was only one blanket in our twin room, it was around 2am and there was nobody at the front desk even after we rang the bell, one of us had to wear her winter jacket to bed. We found out later that the hotel owners were aware of the shower issue and already have plan to address them.
The breakfast on the terrace was nice and sufficient.
Our biggest gripes were actually with the bus ticket to Fethiye that the hotel helped arranged through travel agency, we were charged 30 TL per person for the slowest bus instead of an express bus from Pemukkale to Fethiye, the tortorous journey took 4.5 hours with the bus picking up and dropping off passengers into villages via dirt roads, the bus even delivered five big bags of meat along the way. When I asked for more details regarding the bus, the hotel assured us not to worry as they do this everyday. :(
I would also advise against booking tours through the hotel if shopping stops are not your cup of tea, our Ephesus tour guide was rushing through the afternoon itinerary to make time for a leather shop and a carpet shop visits. There are tours available online with the same price without shopping stops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Manager at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for your experience. Not much buses to Fethiye available in the off season.
We have total 2 travel agency in Selcuk. They arrange one by one daily tour to Pamukkale.
I arranged Pamukkale Tour and Bus ticket from same agency so they should drop you to Denizli Bus Station after the tour. I didnt hear any bad experience before so I will take care for our future Guests. We are starting to make our winter renovation next week.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Urkmez is a great place for couples or visitors traveling alone, i wouldn't recommend the hotel for families so much, reasons are its a very quite place and a lot of stairs which would not be so safe for young children. there is no entertainment in the room apart from a TV ( all in Turkish of course). the breakfast in the morning is great, a range of food, some European, some Turkish all fresh and tastes great. the staff are always willing to help and provide transport. the rooms are lovely, clean and furnished well. the location of the hotel is great, its right in the center, at night the streets are mostly quite at night so although it hotel is in the center i wasn't disturbed by noise at all. with the hotels being in the center its safe and easy to find at night.

all round a great place to stay when visiting selcuk

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Urkmez was an excellent choice for our stay in Selçuk. The location was central and only a couple of minutes walk from the station and about 5 minutes from the bus station. The helpful and friendly nature of the staff could not be faulted. O.K. the rooms are a little on the small side and the same for the bathroom but this did not detract from the overall experience. This is a great choice for a base in which to explore the area, and is great value for money. If you want to pay a little more, the family that own the Urkmez also have the Ephesus Suites which are roomier.

Room Tip: The comfort rooms facing the Basilica are the better bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel very close to the bus terminal (less than 10mins walk) and train station (less than 5 mins walk). There was a evening markets on Saturday, just a few minutes walks from the hotel. Easy to get supermarkets and restaurants around the hotel. We had our dinner at the hotel restaurant Cabare with live music, very nice food and good services with reasonable price.

The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is nice. The room is spacious. Just the toilet need to be improved, cos the whole bathroom floor become wet after shower. The hotel has no lift. Requests lower floor, if you lazy walk up the stairs.

I will recommend this hotel cos of the good location and their friendly and helpful services.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel is well -situated (a short walk from the bus and train station). Fabulous views from the terrace where a decent breakfast is served. The room was clean, but feel old and tired. The bathroom shower was a real pain - thin stream that had a mind of its own (I spent more time fiddling with it than taking a shower).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Owner at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Sorry for the bathroom experience. We are aware of that 2 of our 15 rooms has dated and need to be done. These 2 rooms are no longer avaliable for online reservations.
Off season has just started and we are working on them in 2 weeks of time.
Me&my family will do our best to keep our nice service for our Guests
Thank you for your understanding.

Cüneyt Özkan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights; the staff our friendly and helpful, though to be honest we found that was the case for all the family run establishments in Turkey. The breakfast terrace is beautiful, with a view of the castle. It's located right in the middle of everything (though Selcuk is pretty tiny) with lots of cafes and grocery stores to choose from. The bathroom, however, has one of my pet peeves - a shower that consists of a tiny curtained off area (no stall) in an already tiny space, so when you shower the whole bathroom floor gets wet. And the area is so small that the curtain sticks to you, which is disgusting, and I'm not a big person. The water pressure is really weak, and runs hot and cold for no apparent reason. The second night we noticed tiny ants on the bathroom floor, so we took to wearing our shoes in the bathroom. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Owner at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Sorry for the bathroom experience. We are aware of that 2 of our 15 rooms has dated and need to be done. These 2 rooms are no longer avaliable for online reservations.
Off season has just started and we are working on them in 2 weeks of time.
Me&my family will do our best to keep our nice service for our Guests
Thank you for your understanding.

Cüneyt Özkan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Address: Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly renovated in 2012! We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train stations, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms has ensuite and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, egg, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on the terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urkmez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.