We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and utterly delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homeros Pension & Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Homeros Pension & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Ataturk Mah. 1048. Sok. No:3 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
book directly - 10% off
Ranked #3 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Saint Marcel, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique and utterly delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

An absolutely unique hotel/guesthouse, full of antiques and collectables and with very comfortable beds and good showers. Staff - especially Saziae - were fabulous [she is as unique and special as the hotel -- as the sun was setting she ran out into the lane and invited strangers up to the roof terrace to see it properly]. Dinner was wonderful. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    119
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
315
93
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A 5 min walk from the main bus station, we stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend it. We paid 100 TL for a comfortable en-suite double. The owners and everyone we met there were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast terrace is welcoming and conducive to hanging-out, particularly if its a breezy evening. We liked the vibe of the pension - it was relaxed and no one tried to sell you anything (tours etc) you didn't ask for.
The breakfast was usual Turkish but with lots of fruit. They also offer dinner for 20TL a head - we had that the first night and enjoyed it so much that we had it again the next night. By far the best food we had in pensions - arguably amongst the best food we had in Turkey. Delicious home-made mezze and veggies and not meat-heavy.

One minor negative was that the sliding door to the en-suite bathroom was very flimsy - not ideal for those who need complete privacy in the toilet.

Room Tip: The double on the second floor (near the breakfast terrace) has lovely large windows which allows th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This B&B in Selcuk is a few short blocks from shopping and restaurants as well as the historic aqueduct. rooms are not large, but comfortable and clean. Our host was great! We arranged for our host to pick us up at Izmir airport. After we mentioned our interest in archeology and seeing the Aegean Sea, he took us to Claros, a recently developed park centering on the Temple of Apollo, which was mentioned by Homer in the 7th century bce and was a major prophecy center of the ancient world in the 4th century bce. He visited with the site'g guard for an hour and let us wander around the ruins of temple, visitor's hotel, many huge statues in great condition. Then he drove to the Aegean, drove on the beach and introduced us to local fishermen, with whom he visited while we walked on the beach! All for no extra charge. The B&B and Selcuk center is about a mile from the ruins of Ephesus, we took a taxi there and walked back. The Basilica of St. John, one of the largest 6th century churches, is walking distance from the B&B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed only one night and felt like family. Arrived with a family of 6 adults to visit Ephesus and left the following day trying to figure out how to stay longer! Had dinner and breakfast at the pension. Both meals were great and they offered great advice on the logistics of fitting in all of the tourists sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were really happy to find this lovely place to stay in Selcuk and to explore Ephesus.
The hosts were outgoing and knowledgeable of the area and went out of there way to make our stay great, they even drove us to the bus station even though it was a 5 minute walk. The food was wonderful, fresh and interesting. They prepared local Turkish cuisine as an optional evening meal on the terrace which I would recommend. The atmosphere in the pension was unique, filled with Turkish carpets, pillows and interesting artifacts. We also were in Selcuk on a market day which was better than the Grand Bazar in Istanbul with far better prices. This is a great place to stay and really get to know the people of Turkey. Dervts and Saziye are sincere and great hosts who want your stay to be memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Found this place a delightful retreat away from the tourist areas. The hosts were especially friendly & looked after us very well. We enjoyed our dinner there on the first evening & loved the special touches & the decor throughout, particularly the open bar area. Breakfast was served here also & was beautifully presented & delicious.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main block so you are handy for the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at Homeros for 3 nights while in Selcuk, upon arrival we were welcomed by the lovely hosts and got a small room with 2 beds in it for a good rate. They supply a free breakfast which is amazing!! Feta, tomatoes, bread, yoghurt, pomegranate syrup, olives, orange, grapefruit, strawberries. And some apple tea, black tea and coffee! After travelling for a few days this place was an oasis, stay here, the ratings are well deserved!!

We walked to Ephesus from Homeros early in the morning and it took around 25-30 minutes.

PS. The best value kebabs in Turkey (I think) are just a short walk at Alibabas. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homeros Pension & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeros Pension & Guesthouse

Address: Ataturk Mah. 1048. Sok. No:3 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1991 a popular place with travelers, run by Dervis with the help of his mother (she cooks great meals) and his sister Oya. The roof terrace gives a splendid 360" view over the old part of Selcuk town, with many antique sites a stone's throw away. Guest rooms are divided over 2 buildings (across the street) and are uniquely decorated with local antiques. Most rooms have en-suite bathroom and aircon. Free: transportation to Ephesus, use of internet (wireless), bicycle use. Every evening before dinner wine is served on the roof terrace to make the beautiful sunset even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Homeros Pension & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Hotel Selcuk
Homeros Pension And Guesthouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeros Pension & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.