We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the region.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nilya to your Saves list
Hotel Nilya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Selcuk
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the region.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Nilya is a sparkling clean, two story hotel located in Selcuk, only minutes from Ephesus. It is set in a lovely little garden, has beautiful carved wood furniture and beams. The owners (who also own the Hotel Bella) are quite accommodating, especially by driving you to Ephesus, dropping you off at the top of the hill, and picking you up at an established time at the bottom of the hill--the other end of Ephesus. We were extremely appreciative of this gesture.

I selected Hotel Nilya because of the many good reviews on Tripadvisor. Because of the mention of small rooms, I booked the suite because in the small rooms the beds are almost wall to wall. The Nilya is not a bad hotel, but there are some problems that could easily be remedied. There were no luggage racks (and in the suite there was plenty of room for these) so we had to put our cases on the love seat in the sitting room, thus-- no available seating. The bathroom was dimly lit with the mirror hung so high I could only see my eyes. The balcony just outside the room door,offered the possibility of a fantastic view, but the stems of untrimmed bushes obstructed it.. Futhermore, it is extremely difficult to find, because of lack of signage --a problem throughout Turkey. Finally, if you choose to take your meals at the sister Hotel Bella--which is encouraged--one has to walk up a very steep hill, followed by three flights of stairs to the Bella's rooftop restaurant. Still, the Nilya and the Bella are probably the best Selcuk has to offer. .

I

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    80
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
67
169
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small Hotel on two levels. We had an upper level room with a view over the wonderful little courtyard, fountain and all. Good size room and bathroom and decorated in authentic Turkish style. Very clean and lots of nice little touches in the room. Great breakfast in the courtyard and the boys were only willing to please. The owner paid us a visit to assist with any arrangements we might require. Helped us with a guide to Ephesus who was fantastic. They have a sister hotel up the road, the Bella, which has a great Roof Terrace for evening dining. Hotel is close to the Basilica which was interesting to explore. Also close to the main shopping areas which were a maze of little alley ways and some great markets. Make sure you leave yourself some time to wander around the town, you won't be disappointed.

Dean K Perth WA

Room Tip: Upper room level to look over the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haysville,kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I just spent two nights here. The hotel is very clean and attractive. I was given the room right next to the office. There does not seem to be any sound proofing of any kind. I found the bed extremely uncomfortable. Also right outside the room is the terrace where breakfast is served. It's very noisy as you can hear all conversations in the office. There is no place to put your luggage except the tiny desk. There's also no safe, refrigerator, or coffee pot. When I told the person on the front desk that I thought it was a bad room I got no response. I would never return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Selcuk was our choice for a relaxing holiday giving us the chance to explore Ephesus and other sites. Nilya was the perfect hotel for us with a very peaceful atmosphere in the courtyard and beautifully furnished rooms. The service was very helpful, and we appreciated the lifts to Ephesus, the beach, Meryem Ana etc. The minibus trips booked through the hotel were excellent with a friendly guide and a nice small group. We were there for 8 days so had plenty of time to explore Selcuk and the area, including some unexpected delights such as the Camluk railway museum (dolmus minibuses put British bus services to shame!) Most visitors were there for shorter stays and missed the time to explore locally. The restaurant at the associated Hotel Bella had wonderful views as the sun set over the town, but the food was generally better in the restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms have a magnificent view - our room (12) at the end was extra spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This small intimate hotel tucked away in a neighborhood belies its modest exterior. It is built on two stories, around a charming courtyard, a lovely and inviting breakfast room, all furnished with beautiful Turkish decor and antiques. The staff are attentive and thoughtful - so thoughtful they did not move my Turkish coffee cup for two days so that I could have my fortune told. The rooftop of their sister hotel is breathtaking as are the items for sale in their store. Several steps above the usual tourist nick knacks. Owner Erdal is there to help and answer any question you may have. Arranged for a private tour to Pamukkale and Afrodesius as well as to Efes, A little hard to find but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our stay was off to a flying start with a complimentary transfer from the bus station, otherwise we would have had a hot, steep hill climb with heavy packs. We were welcomed by the owner who gave us a comprehensive list of tour options and things to do around Selcuk. Our room was exquisite: roomy and decorated with some beautiful ceramic pieces. We appreciated the small touches, such as the bath towels being folded into different shapes each day and the general attention given to us by each staff member.There was a small, leafy courtyard where we had our breakfast and numerous cups of apple tea. This gave us a chance to meet fellow guests and share stories. Location was good, even with the steep climb up from town. The hotel was near St John's Basilica ruins and set in a network of narrow lanes containing lovely whitewashed cottages, close to restaurants and shops, but seeming far away from everything.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are larger and have a shared balcony for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We had room 9 - which had a nice view, and our daughters were downstairs (room 4 I believe). Ask for an upstairs room for view. Clean rooms. Nice decor. The staff was very helpful. We had them do laundry there, and they did a nice job for very reasonable price. One thing to be aware of is that one of the owner will meet you for an "orientation". They want to set up dinner at their other restaurant and let you know about their gift shop. We did have dinner at his other hotel, which is on a rooftop, so great view. But food was just OK. On the other hand it was 25 lira for 3 courses, so very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nilya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.