We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So incredible, we're going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nilya to your Saves list
Hotel Nilya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Selcuk
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“So incredible, we're going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This really is the place to stay in Selcuk. The hotel itself is lovely and breakfast was fabulous, but it is truly the people of both Hotel Nilya and Hotel Bella that sets them apart. We stayed for three nights and whatever was needed -- a lift to and from Ephesus, recommendations on other things to see in the area, as well as finding us a telephone charger to replace one that didn't work -- nothing was too much trouble! We had room 12, which is their beautiful suite, decorated in ceramics. There was plenty of room for everything, and we were able to sit on the second floor terrace or in the courtyard, flowers everywhere. We had dinners at Hotel Bella, in their roof-top restaurant, which were excellent. Their fixed price menu provides for soup, two starters, a main course and a desert, all for 25 Turkish lira. We had such a nice time that we have changed our plans to return to Hotel Nilya for our last night in Turkey!

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite, for more space as well as the wonderful views from the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    80
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
67
169
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a great 2 night stay at the Nilya. Everything was amazing from the location to the room to the advice to the breakfast. We also used their travel agency and had great guided tours of Aphrodisia, Pammukale, and on toward Bodrum. We truly felt we had a home in Selcuk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The owners and staff of the Hotel Nilya are so nice and friendly. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is plentiful. I liked that I could order my eggs the way I like them! The Hotel Nilya is the sister hotel to the Hotel Bella and they are close walking distance to each other. The restaurant is on the roof top of the Hotel Bella. It is very good and reasonable; however, I thought the wines were a little expensive. The staff from the hotels are very willing to drive you to the sites - pretty much on your schedule and at no extra charge! Our room was perfect for 3 people for one night. No TV so the night was very quiet. The bathroom shower was huge! I really loved the hospitality at the Hotel Nilya and would definitely stay there again! Thank you to both hotels for a wonderful, memorable visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Beautiful small hotel with a very attractive, flower-filled courtyard, and a great view from the second floor balcony. Our room was reasonably sized and very comfortable. The bathroom was more than adequate with a large, rain-head shower. Everything was spotless.
Breakfast was excellent. Fruit, cheese, bread, jams, vegetables, eggs. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: second floor has a nice sitting area with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We don't often give "five star" ratings - - even to the five star resorts where we've stayed. Hotel Nilya isn't the Ritz Carlton, but our experience was so nice and so different, it gets a perfect score. First, some preliminaries:

1. Disregard all reviews before April, 2011. That's when the current owners bought the property. Their commitment to quality and the money they obviously invested makes earlier reviews irrelevant.
2. The hotel is a pleasant walk from either the train station or the bus station. (We flew to Izmir from Istanbul on Atlas Jet and took the airline's complimentary shuttle to Selcuk. The bus stopped a few blocks from the hotel).
3. Yes, the owners have the carpet and ceramics store next to Hotel Bella. The store will be mentioned. You will probably be shown inside. Enjoy the visit! The store has beautiful things and you will only be there a couple of minutes. No pressure. It was nice to see the merchandise. We didn't buying anything, but we did stop back the next day to look again at the ceramics.
4. You will be asked if you want dinner at the restaurant at the top of Hotel Bella. Answer: "Yes, yes, yes!!" Look out the windows. The storks are in town. They are having babies just outside the restaurant windows. Dinner was good, too.

Now to the hotel:
It’s a small hotel with a beautiful courtyard. Sit outside. Listen to the water bubble down the fountain. Have one of the nice employees bring you a glass of tea or a glass of wine. Enjoy the flowers and the view of the valley below.
Our room was small and exquisitely decorated. The stunningly gorgeous ceramics you saw in the store are also in your room and throughout the little hotel. Attention to detail was unbelievable. On our double bed were two towels folded in the shape of fans. Every room had towels on the beds - - and in each the towels were folded in a different pattern.
Erdal waited for us in the lounge/breakfast room, and gave us an overview of the area using an Ephesus guidebook he would loan us. We arrived in mid-morning and he drove us to a fantastic restaurant in the woods, dropped us off for a wonderful lunch, and came back 45 minutes later to drive us to the Ephesus entrance. When we finished several hours later, a curio shopkeeper called the hotel. Erdal was there in 10 minutes to drive us back to the hotel.
It’s not the Ritz Carlton. In a special way, its better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place took our vacation from good to wonderful. Charmingly decorated, albeit small, rooms; heavenly garden; quiet but central location. The the best hospitality ever. Both owners went out of their way, day after day, to be sure we saw the best sites, found the nicest cafes, traveled the most picturesque routes. The staff were sweet and attentive. This is the way a hotel should be!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It's only our day #1 of 3, and while it may be premature to write a review (and I always wait until after my stay), I feel utterly compelled to give Hotel Nilya a good rating. Actually, we were meant to spend only 2 nights here and 1 night in Pamukkale, but from the very moment we stepped into Nilya's courtyard, we immediately changed our minds and extended our stay. The establishment is very tastefully decorated with the most beautiful local ceramics and rugs clearly procured from their store, located beside their sister hotel, Hotel Bella. I'm really not into trinkets, but after seeing our room and the beautiful things in it, I'm starting to rethink my minimalist lifestyle back home! The service has been outstanding. Erdal, the owner, took the time to tell us about the town while we had apple tea. When we told him that we wanted to visit Ephesus in the afternoon, he not only arranged to pick us up and drop us off, he even got us a packed lunch of local crepes. The free "shuttle" service was extremely helpful since we didn't have to walk to the parking lot and therefore backtrack our way through Ephesus. In addition, Erdal even called our hotel in Pamukkale and cancelled our reservation on our behalf when we wanted to stay in Selcuk instead. There is free wifi service which we are able to access without any problems from the junior suite. I guess it's pricier than other places, but it's definitely worth the extra TL. Overall, good stay so far, we will keep you updated...

Room Tip: Easy wifi access from the junior suite, plus a seating area right outside the room door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nilya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.