We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small as attraction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)

Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)
Orman Yolu Park, Ephesus, Turkey, Selcuk, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$340*
and up
Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip...
Ranked #12 of 42 Attractions in Selcuk
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Several years after the death of Christ, St. John brought the Virgin Mother to this house located on the slopes of Bülbül Mountain. It is believed the Virgin Mary lived in this house until she died at the age of 64.
Guri, South Korea
Top Contributor
632 reviews 632 reviews
324 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Too small as attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

C1 ( 2013.08.17 )
After Efes trip, we want to go meryemana, but there was no way except taxi. We paid taxi fare and went there. I'm not interesting this attraction,becasue I'm not Catholic. The house had an atmosphere of solemnity and sacredness, but there was too small as attraction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    248
    166
    49
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too Crowded and Underwhelmnig”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Way too crowded and by the time you get to the House, it took all of two minutes to go through it. We can definitely see the attraction for pious Christians and scholars, but if you're not very religious or intersted in Biblical scholarship, we recommend skipping it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mary's last home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whether or not you accept Christianity or that Mary lived her last days here, it is a lovely, green peaceful (notwithstanding the visitors) spot. The church is very small and conveys a sense of tranquility and peace found in places like large cathedrals and mosques. Light a candle and leave a wish on the wall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Virgin Mary's House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is a short 5 min walk to the House where Mother Mary died around that vicinity which has 2 wishing spots outside the house. No Talking/ video/ photo in the house and strict silence. We filled up some water bottles to drink, supposingly known as "Holy water".

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Neat to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am with the other reviewers....if this is indeed the house where she spent her last days, then it is worth seeing. It only takes 5 mins to walk through the house and then some time to pay respects at they prayer wall and holy water. The gift shop is small and there is a cafe selling snacks and drinks for a ridiculously cheap price!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House) also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.