We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views from the hill but much needs preservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Basilica of Saint John

The Basilica of Saint John
Entrance off St. Jean Sok. | just east of Isa Bey Cami, Selcuk, Turkey
no phone
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$340*
and up
Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip...
Ranked #11 of 42 Attractions in Selcuk
Type: Ancient Ruins, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This monumental basilica was built in the 4th century in the burial place of Saint John the Divine. It was designed in the shape of a cross and was covered with six domes.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular views from the hill but much needs preservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is definitely a place to visit while you're in the area. The grounds provide some fascinating insight to the significance of this place over many centuries. Efforts to preserve and restore parts of the area are needed. Parts of the buildings were crumbing right at our feet. There was the appearance of some botched concrete work to restore other areas. Significant portions of the grounds were closed for excavation. There are terrific views of other nearby sites from the southern walls. A visit toward the end of the day allows you to enjoy the setting sun. Very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    140
    42
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Crowded, An Easy, Quick Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were the only people at the Basilica when we toured it, which made for a peaceful trip, and we could wander about as we pleased. There was even a stork nest complete with babies when we visited. Even if you're not religious, this is a great historical site and there are good views of the Isa Bey Mosque and a Byzantine fortress as the Basilica is located on a hill.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Tomb of St. John has several interesting features...the building itself, the baptistery, an original frescoe, & St. John's Tomb. Walking is a challenge. This area is also a nesting ground for storks....there were nests with small ones everywhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A small stop but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

your stop here should take only a short time. Not much to see as most of the place is in absolute ruins now. The alter is still there under which St John was buried however his body has since been removed

You can see the what is left of the Temple of Diane from here as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I am not a religious person and was not expecting much, but this place was very peaceful and less crowded than Ephesus. it was also interesting to hear calls for prayer ringing out from two adjacent mosques as I stood and contemplated the grave of one of the 12 apostles. There is a also a great view from the top. It won't take much time to visit and I think you will be rewarded. I thought it was simply awesome to contemplate the history and to be in touch with the birth of Christianity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of Saint John also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to The Basilica of Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basilica of Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.