We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ephesus Museum closed for renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ephesus Museum

Ephesus Museum
Agora Carsisi, Selcuk, Turkey
232 892 6010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 41 attractions in Selcuk
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This important museum displays the pieces found in and around the ruins of Ephesus. Prior to World War II, discoveries were taken to a museum in Vienna.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ephesus Museum closed for renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Following a tour of Ephesus I took the bus to Selcuk next day to see the artifacts from the site in the Ephesus Museum. Unfortunately the museum is closed for renovations until end of September 3013.
Plenty more sites to visit in Selcuk though including the Basilica of St John and Isa Bay Camii Mosque.
The Ayasaluk Fortress which is accessed through the Basilica is also closed to visitors at present.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    27
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Museum of ancient Ephesos and of Artemis Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well-arranged and not very large museum, nicely placed exposition and inviting courtyard with artefacts. It lies near the crossroads in the Selcuk town, a few km away from the excavation area of Ephesos. Statue of Artemis is unique and similar to one which can be seen in Archeological Museum of Naples, Italy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“8,000 years of history in one small organized Ephesus musuem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm the type of person that likes to plan, research and organize myself before trips. I knew my wife and I wanted to go to Ephesus, near Kusadasi Turkey as some friends definitely nudged us to experience it. My thinking was to go to the Ephesus museum first as the finds from the Ephesus site are organized there and I thought it would give me some questions to ask our guide once we went into the actual Ephesus Archaeological site. We lucked out and had a guide that was remarkably one of the archaeologists that had worked on the site for decades. He showed us the ends and outs of the museum (that he also helped to organize). Small museum, but great items especially the large statue of the Goddess Artemis. Enjoyable--and 'did' make looking at the Ephesus site more comprehensive.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ephesus Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was alright with the highlights being the busts including Domitian. It is quite small but quite well appointed and clean.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“See what has been removed from Ephesus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Ephesus Museum is a great place to go after seeing the ruins, because much of the art, friezes, and frescoes are here on display. The museum is small and can be seen in less than an hour. Across the street is a great open-air place to eat or enjoy a fresh-squeezed glass of orange pomegranate juice, so refreshing and tasty to counter the heat. There was even a stork's nest high up on a pole for bird watchers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ephesus Museum also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ephesus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ephesus Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ephesus Museum to your Saves list