We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ephesus Museum

Ephesus Museum
Agora Carsisi, Selcuk, Turkey
232 892 6010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 attractions in Selcuk
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This important museum displays the pieces found in and around the ruins of Ephesus. Prior to World War II, discoveries were taken to a museum in Vienna.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice museum with quality exhibits, but not huge. We probably took about an hour to walk around and look at everything. Not expensive at all. Nicely air conditioned to revive you from a hot day at Ephesus! 2 minutes walk from the dolmus car park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    27
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Speers Point, Australia
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Not Really a Museum Person!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This visit was included in our Ephesus Tour itinerary. And it might be worthwhile, but immediately after Ephesus it was perhaps a bit ho-hum for me.

If you intend to do the Museum I would suggest the day after Ephesus and then you have some understanding of the Museum contents and can also better appreciate same.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ephesus Museum & Temple of Artemis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Seeing the statue of Artemis/Cybele in person ALONE made the trip to this museum worth while. And getting an idea how big the Temple of Artemis was is, again, well worth the trip.

Going to Ephesus without going to the museum is like going to Pompeii and not visiting the Archeological Museum in Napoli

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ephesus Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Definitely need to go after tour of Ephesus. The whole museum is worth the visit but especially look for the statues of Artemis.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“See artifacts recovered from Ephesus, good stop after Ephesus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This musuem displays many artifacts recovered from Ephesus, with an emphasis on sculptures, statues and architecture. It does display more personal items too, such as jewelry, a few coins, and household articles. If you've visited Ephesus, the museum gives you an idea of what life in the fancy terrace houses must have been like. Items in the museum are generally preserved or restored better than the items left on site at Ephesus. Small plaques explain the items, but not in great detail. I was traveling with a group and we didn't have enough time to do the audio tour. I think I would have appreciated the visit more if I'd had time for listening to the recorded explanations.

We visited in mid -afternoon, and it wasn't very crowded. There were a few groups with tour guides who blocked some of the exhibits, but it was easy to go around them and step gack to look at those items later. The artificats are very well lighted and just the right amount are displayed in each case, so that you see plenty, but it is not overwhelming.

The air conditioning was a nice break from the heat after being outside in the sun in Ephesus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ephesus Museum also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ephesus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ephesus Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ephesus Museum to your Saves list