We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wallabies chin gu Restaurant

Wallabies chin gu Restaurant
Attaturk mah | Cengiz Topel Cd No. 2, Selcuk, Turkey
2328923204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 85 Restaurants in Selcuk
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The food was really good, fresh, and portion was huge and reasonably price. Recommend chicken crepe, and fresh grill fish, served with fresh salad, mashed potato and rice with corn and butter. Well worth trying! Had a satisfying dinner after a long journey.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    45
    20
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The food here was excellent. We ate here once for lunch and once for dinner. I'd recommend the stuffed chicken.

In addition, while we were staying at the hotel, my wife threw out he neck. The staff was nice enough to let us store frozen bags of peas in the restaurant freezer. So oddly enough, I've been behind the curtain and can attest to the fact that the kitchen is clean and organized, and the cook is a very nice guy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely setting and the staff seemed welcoming and polite. The food was OK but we weren't terribly adventurous in our choice. The big disappointment came at the end of the evening. We asked for the bill, which came, and we paid with 100 TL note. When the change came back to table we were 50 tl short. When we queried this, there was no argument or questions at all, the waiter simply pulled out a 50tl note from his pocket and placed it on the table. We were left with a nasty feeling that perhaps he was trying it on? No real proof, but we were not happy, no apology, which also made us think. Will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Turkish food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went out looking for a place that didn't just serve kebabs and Pizza and found this restaurant near the viaduct arches in Selcuk. Sitting on the terrace, Jeff, the owner came and introduced himself and explained the menu...some of the dishes were based on recipes his mother used to cook and were fabulous. The chicken breast stuffed with spinach, the lamb stew, the red wine he recommended..they were all wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“should be number one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The owner convinced us to eat here by telling us he's number two on trip advisor. I don't know who number one is but this was the best restaurant we went to in Turkey. Lovely fresh food, great setting and the owner put the t.v. outside so we could watch the olympics. I highly recommend this restaurant, great service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallabies chin gu Restaurant also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Wallabies chin gu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallabies chin gu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.