We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came back 3x in 2 days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House

Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House
Ataturk Mah. 1047 Sok. No: 4 / A | Near The Ephesus Museum, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
+902328923872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Selcuk
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Vegetarian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are Turkish family run this restaurant, 2 brothers own this place and we always try to make best Turkish food for our guest, welcome all.We have free WIFI Wireless at restaurant ( internet connection ). we have a so many vegetarian options too.We have also face page you can check Mehmet and Ali Baba kebab house
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Came back 3x in 2 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A small fabulous find in Selcuk! Mehmet has the most awesome kebab in Selcuk! The food was really good at reasonable prices. I just had to go back there again and again. The kebab wraps were extremely addictive. Do try the meatballs, pancakes, kebab wraps with beef/chicken!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    98
    41
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful people!! Great Turkish food! Highly recommended! Nice location and beautiful decor. We will be coming back again with new friends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Second time is a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It took us 2 tries just to find the place. Some directions say it's at the back of the museum, which it technically is, but it's on a steep, side street behind the museum. I think i had pictured it as part of the complex or just in the rear of a courtyard.

Once we found the place and took a seat outdoors in the shade, the owner greeted us warmly and brought our food quickly. The kebabs were quite good and as were the appetizers. This place had a mom-and-pop shop feel to it and a row of turkish ladies were looking at us from the upstairs balcony. This entertained us even though we had no idea what they were saying. We met some fellow travelers at this place as well. This place certainly deserves its place in the rankings... i just wish there was an easier way to describe its location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“don't be afraid to linger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Selcuk as part of a cross-Turkey journey we took during spring break. As someone who is working in Turkey, I eat a lot of Turkish food. The simple and homey fare they offer here is some of the best I've had in awhile, and an unexpected treat in such a touristy location. We liked it so much, we came here twice!

At first we were apprehensive because our hostel host brought us here without asking. He definitely had our best interests at heart, though. Mehmet and his son were extremely hospitable and welcoming. My boyfriend is a vegetarian, which can be a struggle in some parts of the country, but Mehmet had great recommendations. During our first visit, we shared some decent sarma, followed by some incredible gozleme. The nar (pomegrate) sauce tasted good on everything. My manti was tasty and fresh. We hung out for awhile afterwards talking about Turkish cay and rappers. A great meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Restaurant, Entertaining Owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A fine dining establishment this restaurant is not. It is indeed hard to fathom how this place receives the #1 restaurant rating for Selchuk. That said, it is a decent place if you are prepared to dine in simple surroundings, eat pretty good food, primarily kebabs and wraps, at reasonable prices. My daughter and I ate here 3 times, 2 dinners and 1 lunch, during our stay. The owner, Mehmet, is very nice, good fun and interesting, and that in itself is worth the price of admission.

Mehmet and his family are enterprising and own other tourism related businesses in Selchuk and a couple other places on the coast. Adjacent to the restaurant he and his family own a tempting souvenir / carpet shop. It is a fun store to browse. We were in no way pressured to buy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.