We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, wonderful, spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. John Cafe Shop

St. John Cafe Shop
Ugur Mumcu Sevgi Yolu No: 4/C | Selcuk Ephesus, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
+90 (0) 232 892 40 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in Selcuk
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: European, Swiss, Turkish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Description: You are invited to St. John's Cafe Shop...to enjoy their famous Künefe dessert from Antioch, homemade humus or their speciality "St. John’s Toast". They serve the best coffee in town! You can chose a made to order Latte Macchaiato, Espresso, Cappucino or keep it cool with an iced coffee or a milkshake.St. John’s Cafehas a modern feel, is non-smoking and is an air conditioned facility featuring free wireless internet. It is the perfect place to study, meet with friends, conduct a business meeting or just relax outside enjoying the shaded outdoor environment.EASY TO FIND : 100m. after the Ephesus Museum right beside the pedestrian bridge.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, wonderful, spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and excellent service! I was visiting for a class from the US. The food was so good and the the cafe had a very calming and fun environment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Harika”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I sampled four great dishes including the hummus, a hash brown covered in cheese, chicken, and salad. Also, Coffee Haus coffee is absolutely delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Only Real Coffee in Selçuk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent coffee fresh roasted in Turkey. They also have it for sale as beans and ground coffee.

The lunch sandwiches were good and we loved the homemade hummus. The owners were wonderful and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Owners, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was wondering around this town looking for a very specific place. This little delight caught my eye and I wondered inside to have a look. I was greeted by Doris, one of the owners, who is a real gem. She furnished me with some local information and help. I had the hummus plate which was recommended and very tasty. A nice little place for a light bite or a relaxing time enjoying something to drink.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Something Different in Selcuk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

It was great to find this place in Selcuk, which serves a different type of menu from every other eatery in the town (which we were grateful for after a week of very similar meals). The kindly owner is Swiss/Turkish, which perhaps explains the variation in menu choices (and also the lovely little Swiss chocolates served with our drinks)! We had milkshakes, potato roschti, and a most delicious dessert whose name escapes me now - anyway it's the famous and unique dessert served at the cafe - you'll see it on the menu - give it a try!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John Cafe Shop also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to St. John Cafe Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John Cafe Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.